We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Congenial” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Lowe Road, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
“Clean, Comfortable, Congenial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I started staying here about 6 years ago for our semi-annual trips to Ashland's Shakespeare Festival plays - and this year our group numbers 9 people - each very satisfied with this clean, comfortable, convenient motel located on the north end of Ashland adjacent to the Interstate 5 exit and only a few minutes by car or bicycle to downtown Ashland. The rooms have always been clean, the beds comfortable, and the staff very congenial and helpful. The morning buffet includes only the basics - but the waffles are the best we have had anywhere in a motel or hotel (and we have had lots!). The small pool is also very clean with adequate deck chairs - the perfect way to cool off during or after a hot afternoon. We will always stay here when in Ashland, and the jelly beans offered gratis at the front desk are second to none, too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    16
    14
    9
See reviews for
34
38
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Econo Lodge en-route to California. The place is exceptionally well run, very clean, quiet (ask for a room on the back side), and convenient to downtown Ashland for dinner and a walk. Pool was sparkling clean. Waffles and fresh fruit for complimentary breakfast. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Second story, back side of building for a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT COLLINS
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We return annually to stay here. The location is close to Ashland summer theater, rates are about 1/2 those in town, decent cold breakfast with waffles included. staff is friendly, always feel safe. rooms are clean. yes, a bit dated, but we don't travel 1500 miles for the motel room. nice pool I always mean to use but have no time. a nice fringe benefit- county tax is only 1% on room--not 10% or more as elsewhere. family run business-call direct for the best service and consideration.

Room Tip: we prefer the side away from the parking lot, second floor-though near I-5 exit, we never had noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karatu, Tanzania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We chose this place for one reason ~ price. Based on previous TA reviews we thought it would be ok. It was absolutely fine. We needed a clean, decent overnight option on a long road trip (Ashland is located halfway between Portland, OR and the Bay Area, CA). That's what we got. No frills. This place is what it is, a 1970's (or thereabouts) era roadside motel- super convenient to the freeway. Our experience at this average place was excellent. Yes, the bathrooms are tiny. Our rooms (we used two for three adults and two children) were very clean, no smoke smell, decent beds, normal American TV, excellent wireless. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is located in a building in the parking lot that looks like one of those temporary school classrooms. They do allow camping in a part of the parking lot and some poor bloke had the unpleasant job of keeping the campers out of the breakfast room, I felt sorry for him! It was pretty crowded but the food is the purpose, not the ambiance and it was ok to get the day started- fresh fruit, cereal etc. We didn't use the pool but it looked just fine. We arrived, rested, went to dinner and a play, returned late, slept and took off early. It's not a cute B&B or upmarket hotel but it works fine for a quick off the freeway stop at a low price point.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san mateo, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Never heard of the chain, Econo Lodge, but for a quick in and out overnight, this was really a pefect spot. Perfectly clean,friendly and accommodating staff and obviously management that wants you to return as a customer. I was very pleasantly surprised and would definitely recommend this spot seconds off I-5. Great value if you're just looking for an overnight spot.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Peaks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I booked this property for a one night stop after reading recent positive reviews. Upon arrival, we noticed a motor home with a lot of people in it in the parking lot. It appeared they were living in the parking lot. I waited in the lobby for fifteen minutes before someone came to check me in. It is close to the highway, and I had safety concerns of break ins, due to the unsavory people hanging around the lot. I liked the parking in front of your room, but we heard car doors all night. The door to he room barely latched, and you could see an opening around the door which let in a herd of Mosquitos we fought off all night. The sheets smelled clean, but had dark stains on them in questionable areas, as did the pillowcases. I had to work, the Internet was actually working well. I had to call for a chair replacement due to it sinking when you sat in it. A replacement was taken from the room next door, and had more questionable stains on the seat. We only had three thin towels, also with random stains, which one went over the chair. My socks were filthy after walking on the carpet. One thin blanket, we fought over it on a thin, old, worn out mattress all night. We got no sleep, as it was impossible to find a comfortable spot to sleep on. My daughter also did not sleep well, and she can usually sleep anywhere. There were doors slamming all night, and way too much light in the room. People were leaving at first light, I assume due to horrid sleep. Also, if you step into the bathroom, you have to wedge yourself into the corner to close the door. Shower was dated, crusty, and had old glass doors I didn't consider safe with my daughter. This property should never have been listed as a choice hotel. We travel quite a bit, and this is the first time I have ever had an issue I have had to write about. The place in whole gave me the creeps.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

If you're in Ashland for the Shakespeare Festival or just need one night, the Econo Lodge on Lowe Road is outstanding. In Ashland there are lots of places requiring a 2- night minimum stay.
We spent one night at the Econo Lodge for another splendid dinner at New Sammy's Cowboy Bistro, which is just 2 min. away. The motel is clean and quiet, despite proximity to freeway. Breakfast is included and their Belgian waffles are worth the effort of making them fresh on their waffle iron. Owners working hard at keeping the place looking nice. Reasonable rates are also due to only 1% tax (vs. 8% in Ashland).
Added bonus: The Oregon Welcome Center is right on site.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 50 Lowe Road, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Ashland
Ashland Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.