We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for longer visits to Ashland, as well as overnights.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Lowe Road, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 19 hotels in Ashland
San Francisco
1 review
“Great for longer visits to Ashland, as well as overnights.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

About us: We've been coming to Ashland for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival every year for seven or eights years now. We discovered the Econo Lodge on our first trip, and have been coming back every year. We usually stay in Ashland for three nights at a time. We try to be budget conscious. We often travel with our dog.
Location: The Econo Lodge is conveniently located right off I-5, which makes it particularly easy for those "on the road" heading further North or South. If you're visiting the Shakespeare Festival, it's a simple five minutes by car to the theaters. Parking near the theaters is pretty easy, so there's not much advantage to staying right in town (tip: the parking garage on Hargadine Street is only $3 for all day and evening, and you can come and go as you please during that time). For folks traveling with dogs, there are fields surrounding the Econo Lodge where you can walk the dogs. Also, Ashland's really beautiful dog park is also only about five minutes away.
Rooms: The rooms are very clean and pretty well appointed for a budget motel chain. Beds are comfortable, and the other furnishings usually include a comfortable armchair, desk, lamp table, as well as the usual chest of drawers and place to hang clothes. A refrigerator, microwave and TV complete the picture. Good bedside lighting, as well, for those who want to bone up on their Shakespeare before the next day's plays. Very effective, easy to use, heating and cooling system. The wireless internet works extremely well, with no registration or passwords to bother with.
Other amenities: We don't usually use the pool, but it looks very clean and well maintained. There appears to be a coin operated washer and dryer also available. Parking is plentiful.
Breakfast: We love our free breakfast at Econo Lodge. The Belgian waffles are great. True, you may have to wait a few minutes if there's a crowd, but there are always other things to munch while you wait. There's usually fresh fruit, some type of loaf bread, toast and cereal, as well as the usual coffee, tea, milk and fruit juices. But it's the Belgian waffles that stand out. Breakfast isn't fancy, but then again, you'd have to go someplace and pay for fancy.
Staff: Everyone we've ever dealt with over the years has been extremely kind and welcoming. These folks seem to really care that their guests have a good stay. Ira, who you'll meet in the breakfast room, always has a warm welcome for guests, and has become a real pal over the years.
Price: It really can't be beat!
Recommendation: If you're visiting Ashland, don't stay anywhere else. We've stayed in high-end hotels, moderate hotels and motels, and B&Bs all over the world. The Econo Lodge in Ashland is still one of our very favorites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    43
    15
    12
    7
See reviews for
33
34
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed at the Econolodge over the Memorial day weekend to hang out in Ashland and Talent with Family. Don't expect too much as some have said on this site. We have stayed in many motels in Ashland and this one is ok.
- Clean room and comfortable bed.
- Very nice staff.
- Internet worked well
- Bathroom is very small. If you are a large person you may not be able to close the door, not kidding here. Shower water flow was very subpar. A lady with a lot of hair would be challenged to rinse her hair.
- Breakfast was ok. Only one waffle iron caused a >10min wait on Sunday (my wife was a bit pissed). Other items are pretty minimal.
I would stay here again because my daughter lives in Talent 2 miles away and the room was ok priced.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the back side, I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Clean and comfortable. No frills, but everything you really need. And very, very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

It pains me to write this review knowing that once the rest of the world finds out about this lovely little hotel, it will always be full. This is my favorite cheap hotel on the planet and they deserve all the praise they get.

My friends and I having been coming to Ashland for the Shakespeare Festival for around 15 years. During that time we've stayed at many of the local hotels which can run $150+ per night. Yes, they are more elegant or have a snazzy name, but since finding this Econo Lodge I've never looked back.

Large, clean rooms with fresh sheets. Friendly employees that go out of their way for you. A parking lot with pull through spots for trucks with trailers, fresh breakfast, dog-friendly, non-smoking. They also happened to be a short jog away from one of the finest running trails in Ashland. You won't find anything better anywhere for $50 per night.

TIP: Joint the Choice Rewards program and look for their triple bonus specials to earn yourself a free room fast.

TIP #2: Use your free room in the summer when rates are highest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The room was clean, and comfortable. good heating system since it was really cold outside. On the negative side, the bathroom was small, enough room for 1-person, and if the person was on the large size, the room is even smaller.. Another negative was that you had to go outside to get to the breakfast area, if it's rainy or/and cold it can be a small challenge. It's close to fast food places, and only a mile or so from the main town. The room we had was on the freeway side, but the room was still comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor and closer to the office, this would cut down the distance to the morning b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

A return visit for me, and still pleasant.

This time, the overnight stop on a longer trip. The rate was again quite reasonable, the room was clean and in excellent repair.

The only (small) problem with this place isn't the proprietor's fault. Access can be a bit confusing, and leaving in the morning means trying to deal with rush-hour traffic that keeps coming without any breaks. A very small "beef" in an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This motel was clean, quiet, and equiped with the usual micro and fridge. The bed was comfortable with good pillows. Towels were so-so. Breakfast was on the lite side. Our main concern was the distance from the city and restaurants. If you want an early start in the morning it's on the south edge of town right on the I-5.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 50 Lowe Road, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Ashland
Ashland Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.