We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple visits...still great!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palm
Save
You added The Palm to your Saves list
1065 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Multiple visits...still great!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you are looking for an aesthetically pleasing place to stay...a 15-20 minute walk to downtown and the Shakespeare Festival venues, then this is a great choice. Plus it is within a block of the best breakfast venue in town, the Morning Glory cafe. There are a variety of room types here and they are all full of amenities. The nicely landscaped grounds are a plus, and the service from every staff person is friendly and helpful. We have stayed here several times and look forward to the next.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    65
    10
    15
    12
See reviews for
41
125
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Great quiet room and sitting area, nicely sited, very private, very nicely appointed & done. No food service. Parking out the door. About a mile's walk down to the theatres, but we cab'd back late on a cold night. Clearly an "original motel" but have completely revamped landscaping and quarters. Don't be confused by the '50s road sign! We'd go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Flowers in the room, a sitting area outside our door, a heated saline pool with towels and cabanas, basket of toiletries, a good mattress, coffee and tea in the lobby. We loved it here. It was clean, attractive, quiet, and the staff was pleasant and friendly. The price could not be beat. We stayed someone else the last time we came through Ashland, and didn't have a good experience. I have nothing to say but positives about the Palm Cottages. Absolutely we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This small motor court has been redone with really exquisite landscaping. It is a very relaxing atmosphere. There's a Salt Water Swimming Pool, which was great, don't miss it. The staff was helpful and fawned over our Dog, which always scores points. The furnishing in the rooms were nice- there was careful attention to details. The kitchette was the best on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Delightfully surprised when I entered the corner room. A fully supplied kitchenette, small fridge, microwave, herbal teas, artsy dishes and curtains sweet. Then the bed. Just right with a modern cover and oodles of pillows. A bathroom clean, thick towels, small tub, but a tub nonetheless. Heat I could control.

I loved how close to town, yet a little bit out. And the staff, everyone - down to the lovely woman cleaning in the morning - kind, warm and intelligent. Big thank you to the Palm! Elisa from an island in Maine

Room Tip: I loved the corner room with kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you stay at enough hotels/motels, you will encounter the noble attempts by some innkeepers to turn a sow's ear into a silk purse, without really being able to expunge the inner sowness of the place, short of demolition and starting from scratch. Such is the case with the Palm Cottages (Motel). You first clue is the high restrictive cancellation policy and required deposit. Your second clue is that when you arrive, the sign says, "Palm Motel". And that's exactly what it is. The rooms are tiny, the amenities are few (especially for the room rate) and the walls separating the rooms are flimsy. If you have noisy, inconsiderate neighbors (we did one night) you will not sleep well and will have to hear things you would just as soon not .

On the plus side, the innkeepers are friendly and helpful and the pool and environs are not bad. If that could only mitigate against the flaws of this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inventure, General Manager at The Palm, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
William, thank you for your review. We have something for everyone, from small more budget-conscious rooms to truly sumptuous suites. We would recommend that you try upgrading to one of our more spacious rooms for your next stay. Many of our rooms are 400 sq. feet or larger and suites are available with breakfast areas, soaking tubs, hardwood floors, private patios, fireplaces, kingsize heavenly beds, large flat-screen TVs, as well as other elegant touches. Our heated salt-water pool features private cabanas, three large fountains, expansive sundeck and an outdoor fitpit ideal for cool evenings after a long day of refreshing swimming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

During a recent trip to see plays at the Shakespeare Festival, my husband and I had expected to stay, as usual, at the Ashland Springs Hotel, but they had no availability. Based on the Tripadvisor ratings we gave the Palm Cottages a try. What good luck! While a bit further from the festival, it is a charmingly renovated motel with pretty grounds and a new pool. Very private and comfortable. Rooms are squeaky clean and nicely appointed. We had a kitchenette so we were able to have a few meals in our room. The management is wonderful--very friendly and accommodating.
We had such a great experience that the Palm is now our first choice for lodgings in Ashland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm

Address: 1065 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ashland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#7 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside of the ordinary. Guests enjoy award-winning gardens, mature trees, and lawn seating areas that are as welcoming as they are comfortable. Cottage-style guest rooms and sumptuous fireplace suites available. In summer and fall, you'll enjoy an inviting new pool concept complete with private cabanas, and soothing water features. Guests enjoy flat-screen TVs and both complimentary wireless internet and parking. Conveniently located across from the university. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palm Hotel Ashland
Palm Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.