We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palm
Save Saved
You added The Palm to your Saves list
1065 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

During a recent trip to see plays at the Shakespeare Festival, my husband and I had expected to stay, as usual, at the Ashland Springs Hotel, but they had no availability. Based on the Tripadvisor ratings we gave the Palm Cottages a try. What good luck! While a bit further from the festival, it is a charmingly renovated motel with pretty grounds and a new pool. Very private and comfortable. Rooms are squeaky clean and nicely appointed. We had a kitchenette so we were able to have a few meals in our room. The management is wonderful--very friendly and accommodating.
We had such a great experience that the Palm is now our first choice for lodgings in Ashland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    61
    10
    14
    11
See reviews for
38
118
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here at the end of July and absolutely loved this place! Unfortunately, because of the fires, we had to cut our stay short, but we will back and we will definitely stay here.
The property is a beautifully restored old (50's) cottage/motel. The rooms are clean, updated as needed, quiet, and the place is very relaxing, with a nice garden that was right outside our room, very peaceful and beautiful. They have a pool but we did not use it. The kitchenette in the room has everything you need. Staff was nice, pleasant and very helpful. It is within walking distance to the main shops and the festival. A very quaint and charming place with character that you just don't get from those big, modern hotels.

Room Tip: The corner rooms near the garden are nice because the garden is right outside, and makes a perfect h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently made reservations and The Columbia was booked for one of my two nights so they suggested staying in their sister property the Palm. It was more expensive but I thought it would be fine based on the reviews and also because it could be transferred back to The Columbia if a room opened-- eliminating the need to change hotels each day.

Yes, they immediately take the nightly charge from your credit card. But when the air quality in Ashland due to fires necessitated me changing my plans. They not only took the $25 processing fee to cancel my one night at the Columbia but also from The Palm reservation so it cost me $50 to cancel my trip which was booked as one reservation because they "counted it as two rooms".

Customer service sharks!

Cancellation Policy: Your deposit confirms your reservation. Should your plans change and you need to cancel or shorten your stay, you will want to let us know at least 2 weeks in advance. With sufficient notice, we can refund your deposit, or change your reservation, for a $25.00 processing fee per room. In the unlikely event that a reservation is cancelled giving us less than 2 weeks notice, the hotel retains the deposit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inventure, General Manager at The Palm, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to address your concern. We understand that you never stayed with us, and we hope that you do return and try us in the future. Due to the air quality, we did of course waive all cancellation fees for any smoke related cancellation the week of the fire. When we refunded your credit card the deposits you had paid, it was less a small processing fee to cover the banking and credit fees associated with accepting your reservations and then refunding them. The real winners are Visa, MasterCard, and the merchant banks that act as middlemen in the transactions. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great place with beautiful gardens and comfy..not overly done rooms. Well suited for relaxation between OSF plays. I don't see the value of pricey cabanas by the pool, but some may prefer. At least the pool can be enjoyed by anyone, at no cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Although it was not inexpensive, it was worth it! The property is a beautifully restored older highway cottage/motel. Despite being on the main road, the rooms are quiet and the place relaxing and beautiful. The pool is small, but excellent. The kitchenette has everything you would need short of preparing a full course meal. Staff could not have been more helpful and the grounds and rooms are beautiful. Walking distance to the festival if you're a walker (15 minutes.) The cottages & property are decorated in the manner of a high end hotel, with the chram of a small cottage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If I am going to Ashland during the hot summer time, I always stay here. I would prefer an experience that is not "cookie cutter" when I travel. Since the last time I stayed, they updated the pool area and I rented a poolside cabana for 1 day of my stay to have the whole "updated" pool experience. The rooms are super clean, updated without losing the old motor inn feel, and have all the basic amenities. The real reason to stay here is that the grounds are beautiful, have lovely grassy areas with seating and a small but beautiful pool area. Everything is kept up very well and staff are very helpful and friendly. On the down side, this place is no bargain. You are paying top dollar for the charm and location, however everything in Ashland is expensive in the summer and this place is priced accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a small property with cottage style rooms. Some of the room was renovated and some was older in style. There was a kitchenette in our room that was older but nice for a small breakfast or snack. The price seemed a bit high for the quality of the room, but the service is excellent. There is a beautiful pool, but lounge chairs are in short supply because all the cabanas are reservation only. We were in a room at the back of the property and it was very quiet. Other guests complained that there was more noise in their rooms. We were there for a reunion and had 3 rooms booked for our group.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back 5 through 9 are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm

Address: 1065 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ashland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#5 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside of the ordinary. Guests enjoy award-winning gardens, mature trees, and lawn seating areas that are as welcoming as they are comfortable. Cottage-style guest rooms and sumptuous fireplace suites available. In summer and fall, you'll enjoy an inviting new pool concept complete with private cabanas, and soothing water features. Guests enjoy flat-screen TVs and both complimentary wireless internet and parking. Conveniently located across from the university. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palm Hotel Ashland
Palm Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.