We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancellation policy unreal and then they doubled it!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palm
1065 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cancellation policy unreal and then they doubled it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently made reservations and The Columbia was booked for one of my two nights so they suggested staying in their sister property the Palm. It was more expensive but I thought it would be fine based on the reviews and also because it could be transferred back to The Columbia if a room opened-- eliminating the need to change hotels each day.

Yes, they immediately take the nightly charge from your credit card. But when the air quality in Ashland due to fires necessitated me changing my plans. They not only took the $25 processing fee to cancel my one night at the Columbia but also from The Palm reservation so it cost me $50 to cancel my trip which was booked as one reservation because they "counted it as two rooms".

Customer service sharks!

Cancellation Policy: Your deposit confirms your reservation. Should your plans change and you need to cancel or shorten your stay, you will want to let us know at least 2 weeks in advance. With sufficient notice, we can refund your deposit, or change your reservation, for a $25.00 processing fee per room. In the unlikely event that a reservation is cancelled giving us less than 2 weeks notice, the hotel retains the deposit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inventure, General Manager at The Palm, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to address your concern. We understand that you never stayed with us, and we hope that you do return and try us in the future. Due to the air quality, we did of course waive all cancellation fees for any smoke related cancellation the week of the fire. When we refunded your credit card the deposits you had paid, it was less a small processing fee to cover the banking and credit fees associated with accepting your reservations and then refunding them. The real winners are Visa, MasterCard, and the merchant banks that act as middlemen in the transactions. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    60
    9
    14
    10
See reviews for
38
114
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great place with beautiful gardens and comfy..not overly done rooms. Well suited for relaxation between OSF plays. I don't see the value of pricey cabanas by the pool, but some may prefer. At least the pool can be enjoyed by anyone, at no cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Although it was not inexpensive, it was worth it! The property is a beautifully restored older highway cottage/motel. Despite being on the main road, the rooms are quiet and the place relaxing and beautiful. The pool is small, but excellent. The kitchenette has everything you would need short of preparing a full course meal. Staff could not have been more helpful and the grounds and rooms are beautiful. Walking distance to the festival if you're a walker (15 minutes.) The cottages & property are decorated in the manner of a high end hotel, with the chram of a small cottage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If I am going to Ashland during the hot summer time, I always stay here. I would prefer an experience that is not "cookie cutter" when I travel. Since the last time I stayed, they updated the pool area and I rented a poolside cabana for 1 day of my stay to have the whole "updated" pool experience. The rooms are super clean, updated without losing the old motor inn feel, and have all the basic amenities. The real reason to stay here is that the grounds are beautiful, have lovely grassy areas with seating and a small but beautiful pool area. Everything is kept up very well and staff are very helpful and friendly. On the down side, this place is no bargain. You are paying top dollar for the charm and location, however everything in Ashland is expensive in the summer and this place is priced accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a small property with cottage style rooms. Some of the room was renovated and some was older in style. There was a kitchenette in our room that was older but nice for a small breakfast or snack. The price seemed a bit high for the quality of the room, but the service is excellent. There is a beautiful pool, but lounge chairs are in short supply because all the cabanas are reservation only. We were in a room at the back of the property and it was very quiet. Other guests complained that there was more noise in their rooms. We were there for a reunion and had 3 rooms booked for our group.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back 5 through 9 are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the king room in the newer addition and were very comfortable with the room and the amenities. The room was large, well appointed with everything we needed to make our vacation just what we needed. The kitchenette was adequate for us as we did not plan on doing any cooking. Bed was very comfortable, air conditioning unit was silent, bathroom towels and bathrobes perfect. We needed to stay one night in the original motor court rooms, while the room was vintage, it was not as comfortable or as well appointed.
The grounds of the Palm are spectacular, many shady areas to sit with a book and a glass of wine. The pool is wonderful and if you have the time, springing for a cabana is well worth it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived very late, left in the morning but it was enough time for the Palm to make a good impression. Jonathon was waiting for us with a smile. The room was charming, spotless, the bed comfotable and quiet. We took the time to sit on the gardens for half an hour and felt recharged.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm

Address: 1065 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ashland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#5 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside of the ordinary. Guests enjoy award-winning gardens, mature trees, and lawn seating areas that are as welcoming as they are comfortable. Cottage-style guest rooms and sumptuous fireplace suites available. In summer and fall, you'll enjoy an inviting new pool concept complete with private cabanas, and soothing water features. Guests enjoy flat-screen TVs and both complimentary wireless internet and parking. Conveniently located across from the university. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palm Hotel Ashland
Palm Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Palm to your Saves list