We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an old favorite, completely renovated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palm
Save
You added The Palm to your Saves list
1065 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Gasquet
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“an old favorite, completely renovated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Unfortunately, despite the charm (very) and cost (enough offseason)
we expected a coffee pot in the room, only to be told only the "deluxe" room had them, however we could
have some at 8:30 in the a.m. office.
we are early risers and felt let down.
p.s. no hairdryer either.

  • Liked — single story, quiet rooms, location
  • Disliked — no coffee in room, ants in bathroom, heater in bathroom did not work
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    65
    10
    15
    12
See reviews for
41
125
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Palm for one night in June, in Room 1. Room 1 is the tiniest room on the property, which we knew in advance as it was the only room available when we booked, but it was quite cute and still comfortable despite its size. The property is really pretty, with lots of flowers and nice garden areas. I loved the retro motel sign. It's a short walk to the festival, and in pricey Ashland, this is a great bargain. It's also practically next door to the Morningglory cafe, which has excellent brunch. Our only issue was that the wireless network was not up the day that we were there - maybe that was just a temporary problem - and it wasn't that big of a deal. I would definitely stay here again, and make my reservation a little farther in advance next time!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

I was in Ashland for a wedding and looking for a relaxing place to stay. This was not it. You could hear the busy road from your room. I booked a "suite" and it was tiny. I decided to leave and was charged $221.00 for the two nights I did NOT stay there while they were able to rent the room on both nights for the full rate. Total rip. I would never stay there or recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inventure, General Manager at The Palm, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that you decided not to enjoy our hospitality, and we cannot help but wonder how large of a suite you found at one of our competitors given that the suite we offered you was over 400 sq. feet. If a guest cancels a reservation that we have held in good faith for months and gives us only a few hours to re-rent it, then the guest will definitely be responsible for paying for that room. You're going to find that to be common practice across the industry. We hope that the rest of your visit to Ashland was pleasurable and we're sorry that we were not the right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

Our favourite places in Ashland were fully booked so we were looking for a new place to stay . After reading the Trip Advisor reviews, we decided to try the Palm. As others have stated, the gardens are lovely and the rooms have been updated, but the one we had (number 8) had very limited space for storing such necessities as clothing, suitcases, and toiletries. Worse, though, was the awful, musty odour in the room. We tried to escape by sitting in the garden, but on the first evening of our two-night stay all the comfortable-looking chairs were taken; we ended up sitting on hard picnic benches. All-in-all, we don't think we received value for our money. We paid $129/night for a room too small to seat two people, that had very limited storage space, and that had such an odour we stayed in the room only when we had to.

  • Liked — Gardens
  • Disliked — Smell (odour) in room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inventure, General Manager at The Palm, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Carolina, thank you for your feedback. Our staff works very hard to please each and every guest, and we are naturally disappointed to hear that there was an odor in your room. Fortunately, that is a very rare complaint for us to hear. We hope that you addressed the front desk with your concern so that staff could rectify the issue promptly. We would recommend that on your next stay with us you book a more spacious room, as those are certainly available. Each of our boutique rooms are unique, and yours was about 260 sq. feet in size. We have rooms available as large as 420 sq. feet with ample closet space for all of your gear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

This was a welcome surprise in the middle of a long road trip. It is an old Motel that has been redone. Small kitches in some units. Lovely gardens and grass area. Fresh flowers in the very clean rooms.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

I found the Palm in Ashland, Oregon to be a charming place to stay. I had a newly painted room with wonderful furnishings, a flat screen TV and fresh flowers. The staff was delightful and the garden lovely with the new Spring bulbs. A real gem.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2004

I spent most of my stay at The Palm relaxing in a hammock situated in their spectacular gardens. The rooms are very comfortable. I would call them unique, unlike any I?ve stayed in before. It is the attention to detail I admire. I have found a new inn to stay with on a regular basis when staying in Ashland, Oregon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm

Address: 1065 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ashland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#7 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside of the ordinary. Guests enjoy award-winning gardens, mature trees, and lawn seating areas that are as welcoming as they are comfortable. Cottage-style guest rooms and sumptuous fireplace suites available. In summer and fall, you'll enjoy an inviting new pool concept complete with private cabanas, and soothing water features. Guests enjoy flat-screen TVs and both complimentary wireless internet and parking. Conveniently located across from the university. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palm Hotel Ashland
Palm Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.