We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty and pet friendly - stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palm
Save
You added The Palm to your Saves list
1065 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“pretty and pet friendly - stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Saw the Palm when we drove into town. We stayed here because the gardens are so lovely and our poodle was welcomed in their pet friendly rooms. It was early spring and the garden was charming. However, the owners are the real charm here. They are warm, friendly, hospitable and bend over backwards to make sure their guests feel comfortable. This is not a corporate faceless chain. It's owned and operated by a family that cares and it shows. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The setting, well back from the main road makes for a peaceful sleep. The little cottages are economically priced for Ashland, which can be an expensive town. The suites in the renovated house is pricier, but romantic and tasteful with soaker tubs and fireplaces. In warm weather, there is a lovely pool. Sadly, it was not open yet during our stay. I heartily recomend The Palm for people looking for a place to stay that is a little more interesting and individual. Not all rooms are pet friendly, so if travelling with a dog, it's best to book well in advance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    65
    10
    15
    12
See reviews for
41
125
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I travel for work and i appreciate staying somewhere that is cozy. It's quiet because rooms are back off the road. The gardens are lovely and it's nice to relax at the end of the day outdoors. I feel safe at The Palm because the other guest are people who are drawn to the beauty of the gardens and unique antique decor. There is always a vase of fresh flowers in the room. It's not right down town - but a perfect short walk.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different - it's not like a hotel were everything exactly alike. Talk with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Found The Palm in a web search, and glad we did. This is a nicely updated property with very tastefully decorated rooms and beautiful grounds. We had a one bedroom with kitchenette cottage that was very comfortable for two and felt much like we were in a home, not a motel. The staff was exceptionally pleasant and there was little noise. We've been visiting Ashland for years but had not stumbled upon The Palm until now. We will definitely be making it a preferred choice next time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Having lived in Ashland Oregon for some years prior to this visit, I knew the poor reputation that the Palm had already. However, the new owners have clearly put in time and effort to make the place stand out from the street, with the enhanced landscaping and paint jobs on the rooms.
Behind this layer, though, it is evident that the owners are cutting costs in a myriad of other ways. A short list: no hangers; no shampoo, conditioner or lotion(only an exceptionally over-packaged "Tommy Bahama" shower cap); the bed was on a wooden block platform that the box springs kept sliding off of; the mattress itself was a terrible bowl; the WIFI was laughable in signal strength and we were close to the office; no fridge, no coffee maker, etc.
Overall, the place was an overpriced closet.
Won't ever be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neotsu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had to change our travel plans at the last minute due to road conditions, and we called ahead to the Palm and they took great care of us. We checked in late and they were so pleasant and it was so nice of them.. We woke in the morning to snow and the hotel was beautiful. I have stayed in the summer and enjoyed the gardens and pool, but the cozy room and the hot tea were so lovely. We love this hotel and will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are so cozy and decorated beautifully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed here last week with my teen-age daughter. We were traveling back to CA from Seattle. As Ashland is about mid-way, this was ideal. We shared a two-bedroom cottage. We got in fairly late, so we didn't spend a lot of time in the room and didn't use the pool or any other aspects of the property. The property is very nice and located about a mile from Ashland's center. The room does feel like a cottage but it's attached to other rooms. We had a parking space right in front. The rooms were very nice, the beds very comfortable. The only issue I had was the fact that the bedrooms do not have a wall with a door separating them. It's a wall with a large curtain. Not as private as I would have liked. However, far better ;than two beds side by side. Two televisions were a nice touch. The eat-in kitchen was very nice, had everything you would need to make a meal and coffee and maker is provided. Bathroom was good if small. shampoo, blowdryer, etc was provided. For breakfast, we ate at Morning Glory Restaurant, which is recommended on the website and is only a block away. Charming, with good food. It's very "ashland." The motel check-in guy was very friendly and gave us good ideas for dinner as well. Overall, this place is a good value in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The staff are fantastic, the decor and landscaping is beautiful and inviting, and they put so much love in the details: organic teas and coffee, handmade soaps, and a fully functional kitchenette. I'd planned to get some work done at a coffee shop while in Ashland, but decided instead to stay in my cozy cabin and listen to the birds chirp outside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm

Address: 1065 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ashland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#7 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside of the ordinary. Guests enjoy award-winning gardens, mature trees, and lawn seating areas that are as welcoming as they are comfortable. Cottage-style guest rooms and sumptuous fireplace suites available. In summer and fall, you'll enjoy an inviting new pool concept complete with private cabanas, and soothing water features. Guests enjoy flat-screen TVs and both complimentary wireless internet and parking. Conveniently located across from the university. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palm Hotel Ashland
Palm Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.