We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, tacky service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stratford Inn to your Saves list
Stratford Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
PALO ALTO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice room, tacky service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very nice room, with good fridge, microwave, and wifi. Good location. Breakfast not so great.

However, the hotel's service was decidedly tacky when I discovered afterwards that I'd left a couple shirts behind. First, they failed to notify me when they found them, despite having all my contact information. Second, they charged me $22 (!) to mail 2 shirts to me. Third, they enclosed a note from the maid saying that she wanted the shirts if I didn't claim them. Not a classy joint.

Room Tip: "Tree side" means west (facing the road and the nearer set of hills), and "mountain s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Terry,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We always appreciate hearing back from our guest as we're always trying to improve guest experiences. We just wanted to let you know that we've changed some policies with our maid service.

Winter is coming and we do have skiing packages for our guest. For more info please visit our promotions page at www.StratfordInnAshland.com.

We hope to see you again soon!

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    112
    39
    14
    9
See reviews for
123
88
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Reminds me of an old Holiday Inn, kept pretty clean but frayed around the edges.
The flickering CRT analogue TV really was out of date and annoying to try to watch.
The staff was friendly enough old hardware, brass keys for doors and bath fixtures scream for a renovation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi GlideDon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We always appreciate hearing back from our guest as we're always trying to improve guest experiences.

Winter is coming and we do have skiing packages for our guest. For more info please visit our promotions page at www.StratfordInnAshland.com.

We hope to see you again soon!

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My dissatisfaction stems from the horrible experience we had on our second night, when a large middle school group went to the pool after 10:45 PM. We were in room 301, two floors above the pool area. The noise from the pool woke us from a sound sleep. It sounded like an incredibly loud sports event right behind our bed. At 11 PM we phoned the desk. The woman there explained the situation (I could hear the loud noise over the phone) and said she would take care of it. 10 minutes later, with the noise continuing to increase, we phoned again. Still no changes after 10 more minutes, so my husband got dressed, went down to the pool, found the staff and parents unresponsive to his concern. He finally yelled at the kids to be quiet. And this is not a man who yells at anyone. A horrible, horrible situation for him, one that kept us from sleeping for several more hours even though the kids immediately left the pool. When we checked out the next morning, the front desk staff acknowledged the noise problems in 301. We chose this hotel in part because it had 24 hour desk service; but I guess the student families were paying a lot more than we were and therefore our comfort was not a desk priority.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, do not stay in any room over the pool area. Preferably, don't stay her...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi,

We're terribly sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We've read your review and we're taking the necessary steps to ensure that future guests do not experience this same issue. If you do decided to visit Ashland again, please email your contact info to contact@stratfordinnashland att:Jeremy and I'll put a note in the computer to make sure you receive special pricing away from the pool area.

We hope you still enjoyed the Ashland area,

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my first visit to Ashland and I absolutely loved the town! The Stratford Inn was in a great location-walking distance to everything! The breakfast in the morning was good and very convenient for starting the day. The staff was friendly and the room was comfortable. This was a good place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Stratford Inn is in walking didtance of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and the many great places to eat in the vicinity. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Continental breakfast was in a bright and sunny room. Lots of food options. Staff responsive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Mary,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! We really appreciate your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks!

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location is just at the edge of town so it's easy to walk to plays and food. We had our kids so it was nice having the large rooms and pool. Safeway is right across the street which made for easy access to quick items and the continental breakfast was decent. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Melody,

Thanks for the review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about the Stratford Inn. We're always looking for ways to improve our guest experience.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been going to this place for almost 30 years. We have always enjoyed the location and the people. But not this time. The toliet was never cleaned nor was the shower. We called and complained and the maid came back, replaced some towels but did not clean the toliet.We complained again. Next day still no service. My wife asked for $30.00 off the total bill and was told the best they could do was $25.00. It took an hour to arrive at the decision to give us $25.00 off.

The breakfast room is very small and was extremely crowded. They now lease the Large room to a cafe that has very unappealing cellophane wrapped pasties and burritos. Nothing seems fresh there.We used to enjoy sitting in the Queen Anne chairs in the large room but that is no longer possible.

$175.00 a night is an outrageous price for the service we got.My son has been pestering me to try the Ashland Springs Hotel which has just been remodeled. Thats where we are going next year.

Room Tip: Avoid room 301. It is on the end and has a view of the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Address: 555 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratford Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.