We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festival close by” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stratford Inn

Save Saved
You added Stratford Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stratford Inn
555 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Festival close by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Stratford Inn is in walking didtance of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and the many great places to eat in the vicinity. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Continental breakfast was in a bright and sunny room. Lots of food options. Staff responsive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Mary,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! We really appreciate your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks!

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    92
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
97
61
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location is just at the edge of town so it's easy to walk to plays and food. We had our kids so it was nice having the large rooms and pool. Safeway is right across the street which made for easy access to quick items and the continental breakfast was decent. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Melody,

Thanks for the review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about the Stratford Inn. We're always looking for ways to improve our guest experience.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been going to this place for almost 30 years. We have always enjoyed the location and the people. But not this time. The toliet was never cleaned nor was the shower. We called and complained and the maid came back, replaced some towels but did not clean the toliet.We complained again. Next day still no service. My wife asked for $30.00 off the total bill and was told the best they could do was $25.00. It took an hour to arrive at the decision to give us $25.00 off.

The breakfast room is very small and was extremely crowded. They now lease the Large room to a cafe that has very unappealing cellophane wrapped pasties and burritos. Nothing seems fresh there.We used to enjoy sitting in the Queen Anne chairs in the large room but that is no longer possible.

$175.00 a night is an outrageous price for the service we got.My son has been pestering me to try the Ashland Springs Hotel which has just been remodeled. Thats where we are going next year.

Room Tip: Avoid room 301. It is on the end and has a view of the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

First time staying at Stratford Inn for the Shakespeare Festival. Options in Ashland that are close to OSF theaters are limited and generally high priced in the summer. But it's worth it not have to get in the car and to be able to walk everywhere. The inn itself has pluses -- location, friendly staff, clean, nice indoor pool -- and some drawbacks -- furnishings in rooms such as TV really need an update and breakfast could be better for the price. Overall, a positive experience but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi,

I just read your response and wanted to say thanks for taking the time post your review. We're always looking for ways to make hotel and the experience better. We're currently focusing on improving the breakfast bar, so if you have any further import we'd love to hear your feedback.

Thanks for choosing the Stratford Inn and we hope to see you again soon!

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Stratford Inn is located with in walking distance of all the action, so good for them. the beds are hard, the noise from ice machines in the basement room (125) was enough to keep us up most of the night. The breakfast is nothing but carbs and sugar, although nice enough. Coffee was really good! The air conditioner was wonderful , almost covered up the noise of the soda and ice machines next door.
For the price we should of expected a good nights sleep..... at least.
If this is your only choice for a last minute hotel search so you can enjoy Ashland... go for it. If not, shop around.

Room Tip: Do not choose a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as much as we would like. We're constantly trying to make our guests' experience as pleasant as possible and your feedback is greatly appreciated. We'll look into making the ice machine quieter and adding some healthier options to the breakfast.

Have a great day and we hope to see you again soon!

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I came to Ashland to see the plays at OSF. The location of the hotel was good, with in a short walk of the theaters and down town. This made it quite convenient. The problem was our room was in the basement of the hotel. It kind of made us feel like moles either coming out or going into our rooms each time. The people at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The room was large enough but truly felt like a dungeon. It needed more light in the room. They did have a breakfast but it was pretty much tasteless and very basic. The egg was this puck that you could chop-up and put on a tortilla. They had a few small pastries and breads that seemed to be bought at the local grocery store. Coffee, juice and milk finished off the selections.

All in all not horrible but nothing to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi,

I read your review and would like to invite you to stay in one of our rooms with more of a view. Room 107 was once the manager's quarters and gets excellent natural lighting. If you visit Ashland again we can offer you $25 off your stay in the summer time or $65/night in the winter. Please call in advance to take advantage of your special rates.

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as well as we had liked. We hope to see you again soon!

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff are personal and, while the decor is a little dated, the atmosphere feels welcoming. The hotel is walking distance to Ashland's main square, which is exactly what we wanted. We had a lovely two night stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Barlow,

I saw that you gave us a review on TripAdvisor and we just wanted to say thanks! We really appreciate you taking your time to review us and share your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again!

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Address: 555 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
#7 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratford Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.