We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice in Ashland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stratford Inn to your Saves list
Stratford Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great choice in Ashland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had been on the road for several days when we stopped at the Stratford Inn. It immediately stood out from the cookie cutter freeway hotels and motels of our journey. It is located in downtown close to the Shakespeare Festival. The staff was friendly, enthusiastic and helpful when I needed help with a communication issue. The cafe is a friendly place place for an espresso and a snack. The complimentary breakfast in a separate breakfast room was underwhelming. Everything else is first-rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear ArthurB,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Ashland property.

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, layout and quietness of your room.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,
Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    144
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
153
110
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed toward the very end of the theater festival season, so activity at the plain but clean and very convenient Stratford Inn was quieter than during the height of the summer. This is a reasonable, well-situated place; while you may find cuter or more charming inns or B&B's in town, this is far nicer than a standard roadside motel (which it physically resembles), with a friendly staff. It's a very nice choice if your main goal is to have a pleasant, comfortable place to sleep and have breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear PLS-SFO,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Stratford Inn.

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, and quietness of your room.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was my second time staying at the Stratford Inn. Both times I've found the staff to be pleasant, friendly, and helpful. The room decor is fairly plain, but it was adequate for my needs and the beds were comfortable. This time I was in room 301, and the only negative was being able to hear noise from other guests in the indoor pool area adjacent to the room, which is open until 1am. The complementary breakfast spread isn't as elaborate as at some other hotels, but it's sufficient and I've seen worse. I didn't visit the attached coffee house on this trip, but I did the first time and thought the food and service there was good. The location is good too, just a couple minutes walk into downtown Ashland, and a Safeway across the street for any items you might need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Hawaiian717,

We appreciated the lovely compliments about the service we provided to you. We have recently made some changes to our continental breakfast that guest feel are more to their liking.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for coming back on your next visit to Ashland! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We always stay here. Friendly staff, clean rooms and great continental breakfast.
Close to theater and shopping and right next to a Safeway. I like to stay on the 3rd or top floor--it seems to be quieter.

Room Tip: The back side (parking lot side) of the motel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Colette B.,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Stratford Inn. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for the compliments.

Sincerely,
Stratford inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend in Ashland with our family. The Inn is walking distance from downtown and the theaters. It is also close to a grocery store so we could take advantage of the small kitchen in our room. The kids love the pool and we love the jacuzzi. It really is a complete package for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Michelle Y,

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Ashland is a great town and we are pleased you found the Stratford Inn.

We are pleased our staff made your stay enjoyable. I will pass on your compliments.

Thank you again for taking time to review the Stratford Inn.

Best regards,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I always stay here when I am traveling in Oregon. The staff is extremely helpful and polite, the accommodations are clean, comfortable, and well taken care of. The location makes access to the downtown area easily walkable which is convenient for shopping, eating, and entertainment.
They also have a convenient breakfast in the morning and a small cafe
for further food offerings. I love this place and will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Terence B.,

Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality.

Thank you for your comment regarding the cleanliness and comfort of our hotel. We are pleased your stay was comfortable.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to your future visits and we appreciate your patronage!

Best Regards,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've stayed at numerous B&Bs and Hotels in Ashland, and found the Stratford to be a pretty good bargain in compairison. For nearly half the price of the other places I've stayed at, this hotel is as clean, comfortable, and convenient as the higher priced others. It's only a block from the downtown area of Ashland, and a very short walking distance further on from the Shakespearian Theaters. One of the best Italian Restaurants in the area is located just behind the Hotel, and there is a Safeway Store on the adjacent block that has many goodies you may need to make your stay a little nicer. The Hotel Staff are among some of the more polite and friendly people I've met in Ashland. This also appears to be a very family friendly hotel. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Brian W.,

Thank you for your positive review posted on TripAdvisor!

It is always a pleasure to hear such detailed feedback from our guests. We will share your comments with our team members and recognize them for their helpful and friendly service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Ashland!

Sincerely,

Stratford inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#8 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
13.4 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#1 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Address: 555 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratford Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.