We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for our family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stratford Inn to your Saves list
Stratford Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Powell, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good choice for our family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our suite room (with a pull out couch and murphy bed in addition to a separate King room) was ideal for our family of four with two teens (boy/girl). The room had a full kitchen and the hotel is next to a grocery store for those who want to prepare their own meals, although we did not have time for this. While not in the center of town, the Shakespeare venues and Lithia Park (a don't miss) are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk through the downtown. Our suite was at garden level room offering privacy but no view (no "smell" issues). The breakfast was complete although ordinary. Very helpful, friendly staff.

Room Tip: suite rooms are great for families (ours was at garden level with privacy, no view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Martha W,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Stratford Inn. We strive to go beyond our guests' expectations; it appears we did that for you and your family.
We truly take pleasure in what we do and thank you for being our guests'.

Again, thank you for the compliments and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manger
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    115
    41
    14
    9
See reviews for
127
90
17
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I would say that the hotel itself is cute, a bit pricey for the quality of room you get, but great location and front desk staff was very nice and helpful. The beds aren't the best but the small breakfast buffet was varied and tasty. We appreciated the patio area and the indoor pool. The grocery across the street (literally) helps make up for the lack of hot food available in the evenings, but a binder or list of delivery menus at the desk may be a good idea for this who want to order to their rooms. Overall, nice stay with the kids and great pool hours, open late! Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear martasp,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us online. I will be sure to let the desk staff know of your lovely expressions.

The front desk does have a list of all the restaurants in town and would be happy to provide with a list of places that deliver in Ashland. I will suggest placing that list in rooms as well.

We appreciate your feedback on our continental breakfast.

I am glad to hear you and your family enjoyed our lovely patio and indoor pool.

We look forward to having you join us in the future.

Sincerely,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for a weekend and this hotel had everything we needed for our stay. We were greeted with warm cookies, and the desk personnel were very friendly. The pool looked nice, although we did not use it. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Each room has a small refrigerator with a freezer, a microwave and a coffee pot. Couple this with Safeway across the street and you will be well set. The continental breakfast was one of the worst I have encountered, however the coffee house on site was very nice and made up for it. The walk to the Shakespeare Festival, Lithia Park and area restaurants is easy. We signed in, and never used the car again until we checked out! The cable TV and wireless connections work well. If you want swanky, look elsewhere. If you want clean and convenient, this is it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the parking lot are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Aquamom1

Thank you for your encouraging and wonderful comments regarding our team member’s friendliness and the cleanliness and design of your room.

We are pleased to know you had a comfortable stay with us.

I’m sorry to hear that our continental breakfast was not pleasurable. We are taking each review into consideration, to make the breakfast to fit every guest needs.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Walking distance to downtown theatre and restaurants. Basic complimentary breakfast, nice little coffee place attached. Right beside a Safeway with a surprisingly good wine selection! Our son appreciated the pool.
Not too fancy, but better than a mote; clean, with helpful staff.

Room Tip: .We opted for a larger unit with kitchenette after looking at the basic 2 bed room, definitely worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Rockhoun,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad to read you had an enjoyable stay.

We take each review into consideration and are working on making the breakfast more enjoyable for our guest.

We look forward to your future visit.

Best Regards,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and is nice and quiet. You can walk to all of the downtown venues and there are many excellent restaurants within walking distance. However, the hotel is getting a bit worn around the edges and needs maintenance and some upgrades. The staff is always great.

The wi-fi is outstanding and I love the covered parking (if you can get one of the spots).

Room Tip: The quieter rooms overlook the rear parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Dick D.,

On behalf of the team here at The Stratford Inn, I would like to say a personal thank you for taking the time to review our property. We greatly appreciate all the kind words and look forward to providing the same excellent service in the future.

We will be upgrading and renovating our rooms very soon in the future.

Please contact me for more assistance in the future with any of your reservations.

Sincerely,
Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was perfect. The biggest complaint was the night desk clerk (I did not have a chance to catch his name). We were fixing to end our evening and simply asked where could we find a bottle of water. He said he did not have and there and you have to go to the vending machine there is water there. Well after finally locating the vending machine come to find there was no water. Back at the front desk we asked for a bucket to get ice with. His response was look I am at front desk and we do not stockpile them here and was not willing to locate one for us. Everything else was great but that really killed the experience for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Jon H,

I appreciate the comments about breakfast and how clean and comfortable the room was.

My sincerest and deepest apologizes for the way our desk clerk has treated you. That is not the Startford Inn way, and this desk clerk will have serious repercussions for the way he treated you.

I want to let you know that we are truly sorry. I also want to invite you back to stay with us again. I will be the only one handling your reservation. Please let me know what I can do in light of this situation.

Please reach me at 541-488-2151. Or toll free at 800-547-4741

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We found the Stratford Inn on-line while planning our trip to the festival, the location was perfect. It was an easy walk to the plays and restaurants. The room was nice with kitchenette and large bathroom. The Staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the attached coffee shop, great coffee and gelato. We will definitely stay here again.

R Kilgore

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear R Kilgore,

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments about our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to write this review.

We look forward to having you and your family stays with us again.

Best Regards,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Address: 555 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ashland
#7 Family Hotel in Ashland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratford Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.