We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food/good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonsai Teriyaki Sushi Bar

Bonsai Teriyaki Sushi Bar
2305 Ashland Ave, A, Ashland, OR
(541) 482-2640
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 129 restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: In the Gateway District of Ashland.
Restaurant details
Description: In the Gateway District of Ashland.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food/good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

good food .! very consistent food and service! My family always enjoys the bento box~although, I am a vegetarian I have found many good choices on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    5
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dependable and off the beaten path”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A traditional must is an anniversary sushi dinner and despite much research for something more romantic with atmosphere, defaulted to this. Catching the neon sign on our way into town from our hotel across I-5 must have been prophetic since this is where we eventually and accidentally ended up. The places locally weren't impressing with what they were offering, so while we pondered our choices at Oberon's Tavern, time got away. Bonsai was our only option, and we barely snuck in there in time.
Sweet servers were pleasant and efficient. Obviously a family fun business whose owners were decent. And a very competent young sushi chef. Despite assuring us we had all the time in the world to finish our meal (which was massive, as is our way) that they were eager to close up shop for the night was more than obvious. (We requested doggie bags.) In fact, we were still getting into our car after they'd turned off the lights for the night and sped away in theirs.
The menu's quite broad and the environment resembles a diner: charges were on par with product and location. Nothing too fancy, but standard and trustworthy. We probably did ourselves a favor by ending up here and not getting gauged with tourist prices in town.
Random note: having poured many a sake, this was by far the best bottle ever. Not only lovely, but good grip and spout.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Japanese and Korean food in town, fresh, plentiful, delicious, unpretentious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This unpretentious restaurant, hidden away from main streets, offers a wide array of fresh, plentiful, tasty platters. This is one of my favourite restaurants in Ashland. It also offers some nice Korean dishes. The rice is particularly good too: not sticky and very tasty. Sushis and fish dishes I've chosen have always been delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tucked away, but not to be missed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Bonsai Teriyaki is kind of hidden, but the locals know where to find it, and go there often, including myself.
Large portions, and very tasty food. I always enjoy the chicken teriyaki there, love their sauce, the rice is nice
not real gummy like some other places, and it comes with a good sized salad portion. I think the prices are
pretty decent, as so many of Ashland's restaurants are on the high side.
It's not fancy inside, but you can always get it to go. They also have seating outside, where you can see
the beautiful mountains of Ashland. Try it, I'm sure you'll like it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Korean Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a treat to find such a great restaurant in a strip mall. It was near the highway and it was fantastic. They serve a variety of Japanese and Korean. The Korean soup was excellent and the sashimi was awesome. It is definitely a local favorite and a tourist destination to try.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonsai Teriyaki Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bonsai Teriyaki Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonsai Teriyaki Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.