We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy wine bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liquid Assets Wine Bar

Liquid Assets Wine Bar
96 N Main St, Ste 201, Ashland, OR 97520
541-482-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 130 restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Cozy wine bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stopped in at Liquid Assets for some wine and cheese. The bar was just starting to get crowded and I did not find the front of the house very helpful. Unlike the "European" service that I am used to in such places that actively encourages "table sharing" by management - the staff at Liquid Assets is oblivious and leave customers standing right on top of occupied tables rather than being pro-active about seating customers that are there for drinks and a nosh! There was a nice selection of wine and good selection of things to nosh on as well. Service was OK once we were seated [sharing at the invitation of other guests I must add]. The ambiance was very pleasant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    35
    19
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Great Wines and Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We always visit when in town. Great happy hour and a nice Seghesio Zinfandel by the glass. They have a wonderful Woot Stout that we just love. And we find ourselves coming here every time we are in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We met another couple for wine and snacks at Liquid Assests around 4:30 on a Saturday in October. When we arrived, there was no one to greet us, and the one server we saw walked right by us, and a guy explaining about some wine to another customer about four feet from where we stood waiting, never even bothered to acknowledge our entrance. At this point, it was not overly crowed and there were three to four empty tables that we could see.

Luckily, our friends who had arrived earlier and secured a comfortable seating area near the door, spotted us standing there rather uncomfortably, and hailed us over. There was a leather couch that seated three, two leather chairs, and a too tall wooden chair that we had to drag over to seat all six of us. (Not sure if there would have been more accommodating seating in the back.)

I am not going to address the wine, as others have, and obviously a place like this will have quite the selections and prices. I have enough to say about the service that I felt was a bit snooty. We had been at the table about 5 minutes when a glass of wine arrived at the table for our friend who'd arrived about 30 minutes earlier. Her husband was half finished with his beer, and they told us both drinks had been ordered at the same time. Amazingly, the presence of four new guests at the table was not acknowledged by the server and menus were not given us nor orders taken!

It was not until our friend's husband flagged down a waitress that we were given wine and appetizer menus. When the beverages finally arrived, and our individual orders came at all varied intervals, we were pleased with the tastes. But frankly, the service was not good. They did get busier after we arrived, and we observed the same awkward waiting in a crowded entry, so it was not just that we were being ignored. The place just did not seem to have good coordination or management, and the typical Ashland friendliness we have come to know was lacking.

Although it seemed like a great place for happy hour drinks and food, it was much less that day in our eyes. We will try again next month when we come up, but if there is a repeat of the lack of graciousness that we experienced, then it will be our last.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Wine Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good wines, comfortable venue, and excellent small plates. A fine place to have a glass of wine before the theater.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent Alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Not just a wine bar but also an excellent place to eat. Seating is comfortable and emphasizes couches and lounge chairs. Food was good and wine options excellent - our server was outstanding.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liquid Assets Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Liquid Assets Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liquid Assets Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.