We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Hotel in the Middle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Grand Hotel in the Middle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Halfway between San Francisco and Seattle in the picturesque small town of Ashland, on a prominent corner of the main street in the heart of the Shakespeare Festival venues, stands a tastefully remodeled grand old hotel. The upper floors provide a view across the valley and when we were there the lobby was hosting a fascinating collection of turn of the last century bird nests and eggs, collected when ornithology was an American passion. It might seem a strange choice for an otherwise elegant and spacious hotel lobby, but it fit in perfectly with the motif of 1930's Arm and Hammer bird prints which were hung all around. The atmosphere was gracious and friendly and the complimentary breakfast was hearty and served in the small restaurant next door providing a comfortable and cozy setting reminiscent of the better small European hotels. We had a lovely stay. Our room was well furnished and bathtub shower combination allowed me to both clean and soak. The room was small but after we got over the initial shock, was quite adequate. We parked ourselves in the lot behind the hotel, which was included in the price of the room, and walked a few paces to the back door. After a shower and change we walked out of our room and directly to our show in 3 minutes. What could be easier?

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor and a view across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    141
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
44
217
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Yes, the rooms are small. No place to put anything but you must expect this. It's in every review. The breakfast is great, I thought. But I love yogurt and rasberry sauce. It was a great selection, trust me.

The windows should really be changed out. It's historical yes, but no excuse for this day and age to blatantly waste energy. Enough already with the historical stuff. Lobby for sure needs an update. I was there 3 years ago and everything, everything, is in exactly the same spot as I am sure it will be forever and ever. A dusty mess.

I just wish the gal at the front desk had not rolled her eyes at me. Someone had smoked on our floor and it was as if I had asked for the moon. They sprayed and it went away quickly but when she addressed it with me after dinner, she rolled her eyes again. Geeze. That's also where the lavender comes in. It made the room smell great.

I still like the place though. Location downtown, parking, restaurant are very good.

Room Tip: Corner, downtown view, northside of building away from generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I loved this place. Yes, it is an older hotel but that was what we wanted. We booked a king size room that faces right downtown. (unit 320) The view was beautiful. The room was perfect. The location is awesome. We could walk to shops, restaurants and Lythia park. We arrived right after a big snow storm which made the location even that much better so that we didn't have to drive to do things. We liked the continental breakfast buffet, it was perfect for us. We will definitely be back and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently for a weekend couples retreat. The room was very small, bathroom tiny, but clean and nice enough. Foolishly, I thought 'breakfast included' meant a real breakfast, not pastries and coffee. The worst part was the conference room for the retreat. It was large with very high ceilings and difficult to hear the presenters. Apparently, the staff is used to using this room as a pass thru and it also borders the sink where the dirty dishes are washed. The staff continuously came thru the room and the sound of dishes never stopped. We complained half a dozen times about the noise and the interruptions. Nothing was done until i let the manager know that we would not pay for the room if there was 1 more interruption, and it finally stopped. I would not recommend the hotel for a conference, but the location is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I know this is supposedly a "historic"building, but does that mean it has to have chips in the toilet seat, so-so housekeeping, and decor that feels and looks more like my grandmother's old flowery things she has never parted with, versus decor of historic importance? It is old, tiny doors, hard to maneuver the self-cart into the elevator even. But great location, and not many other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Corner room or you'll be in a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a nice large, king room on the top floor. The staff is very accommodating. The continental breakfast in the morning is just average and they have awful coffee, but Starbucks is just down the street. We like this hotel, but they do have a problem with the single pane windows and condensation. It might be time for us to think of staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We made reservations for this hotel way in advance and asked for a corner room with view of downtown. Thanksgiving weekend - first time here since my parents passed away. They ASSURED me that we had a corner room reserved - even said we would have a soaker tub. Well, guess what! When we got here the room they gave us is NOT a corner room and the only view we have is of the Post Office parking lot across the street. AND...no soaker tub - a tiny bathroom with a small shower. Oh, and we were charged the same as if we had the corner room! When I questioned this they said there was no guarantee that you would get the room you request - only that you'd get a room. We will NEVER stay here again and suggest that no one else does either. Apparently they know how to TAKE a reservation, but don't know how to KEEP one!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa & Salon, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.