We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mediocre for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I know this is supposedly a "historic"building, but does that mean it has to have chips in the toilet seat, so-so housekeeping, and decor that feels and looks more like my grandmother's old flowery things she has never parted with, versus decor of historic importance? It is old, tiny doors, hard to maneuver the self-cart into the elevator even. But great location, and not many other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Corner room or you'll be in a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    142
    31
    18
    8
See reviews for
46
220
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a nice large, king room on the top floor. The staff is very accommodating. The continental breakfast in the morning is just average and they have awful coffee, but Starbucks is just down the street. We like this hotel, but they do have a problem with the single pane windows and condensation. It might be time for us to think of staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We made reservations for this hotel way in advance and asked for a corner room with view of downtown. Thanksgiving weekend - first time here since my parents passed away. They ASSURED me that we had a corner room reserved - even said we would have a soaker tub. Well, guess what! When we got here the room they gave us is NOT a corner room and the only view we have is of the Post Office parking lot across the street. AND...no soaker tub - a tiny bathroom with a small shower. Oh, and we were charged the same as if we had the corner room! When I questioned this they said there was no guarantee that you would get the room you request - only that you'd get a room. We will NEVER stay here again and suggest that no one else does either. Apparently they know how to TAKE a reservation, but don't know how to KEEP one!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A lovely place to stay when in town for a play, or just to play! Lovely rooms and close to shopping and theaters. We had a delightful dinner at Lark, the restaurant in the hotel, and then walked to the theater. Would recommend this hotel highly!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I were driving through in the middle of the night with our dog and we decided we needed a place to stay. We looked at some hotels in some cities south of Ashland and we didn't like the feel of those places at all. Then, we stumbled upon Ashland Springs. We thought, "There is no way they are going to allow us to stay at a place like with with our 70 pound lab". To our amazement, they allow dogs. It was a beautiful place. Very friendly staff and had a cool classic old feel to it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a great room with private bath. Nice breakfast. Great location for OSF. Clean room, great location, comfy bed. Overhead fan. Book early to get a room with a private bath and to get a larger room. We have come here many times and have never been disappointed. Helpful, gracious staff.

Room Tip: Book early to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you want all the goo-gaws that hotels pack their rooms with these days, this classy ole dame isn't the place for you. If you want to feel like you've stepped back in time to a simpler way of life you've found it! That's why we stay here over and over. Yes, the rooms are small but the ceilings are high, one of us has to stay put for the other to navigate the space but the windows offer magnificent views and abundant light. The furnishings, drapes, etc are fantastic and classy ... and the subway-tiled bathroom and porcelain tub sublime. There's nothing wrong with it being a place "to sleep and not much else", get out and do what people used to do back in the day, enjoy the town, walk in Lithia Park, laze in the lobby, grab an evening snack on the mezzanine, meet other guests at the breakfast buffet. Chill out, turn your electronics off, restore. Love, love, love this elegant diva. Brava!

Room Tip: 816 on north side, views are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa & Salon, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.