We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a nice large, king room on the top floor. The staff is very accommodating. The continental breakfast in the morning is just average and they have awful coffee, but Starbucks is just down the street. We like this hotel, but they do have a problem with the single pane windows and condensation. It might be time for us to think of staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    154
    35
    18
    8
See reviews for
52
247
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We made reservations for this hotel way in advance and asked for a corner room with view of downtown. Thanksgiving weekend - first time here since my parents passed away. They ASSURED me that we had a corner room reserved - even said we would have a soaker tub. Well, guess what! When we got here the room they gave us is NOT a corner room and the only view we have is of the Post Office parking lot across the street. AND...no soaker tub - a tiny bathroom with a small shower. Oh, and we were charged the same as if we had the corner room! When I questioned this they said there was no guarantee that you would get the room you request - only that you'd get a room. We will NEVER stay here again and suggest that no one else does either. Apparently they know how to TAKE a reservation, but don't know how to KEEP one!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A lovely place to stay when in town for a play, or just to play! Lovely rooms and close to shopping and theaters. We had a delightful dinner at Lark, the restaurant in the hotel, and then walked to the theater. Would recommend this hotel highly!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I were driving through in the middle of the night with our dog and we decided we needed a place to stay. We looked at some hotels in some cities south of Ashland and we didn't like the feel of those places at all. Then, we stumbled upon Ashland Springs. We thought, "There is no way they are going to allow us to stay at a place like with with our 70 pound lab". To our amazement, they allow dogs. It was a beautiful place. Very friendly staff and had a cool classic old feel to it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a great room with private bath. Nice breakfast. Great location for OSF. Clean room, great location, comfy bed. Overhead fan. Book early to get a room with a private bath and to get a larger room. We have come here many times and have never been disappointed. Helpful, gracious staff.

Room Tip: Book early to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you want all the goo-gaws that hotels pack their rooms with these days, this classy ole dame isn't the place for you. If you want to feel like you've stepped back in time to a simpler way of life you've found it! That's why we stay here over and over. Yes, the rooms are small but the ceilings are high, one of us has to stay put for the other to navigate the space but the windows offer magnificent views and abundant light. The furnishings, drapes, etc are fantastic and classy ... and the subway-tiled bathroom and porcelain tub sublime. There's nothing wrong with it being a place "to sleep and not much else", get out and do what people used to do back in the day, enjoy the town, walk in Lithia Park, laze in the lobby, grab an evening snack on the mezzanine, meet other guests at the breakfast buffet. Chill out, turn your electronics off, restore. Love, love, love this elegant diva. Brava!

Room Tip: 816 on north side, views are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Okay, maybe I should have spent more money and sprung for a larger room.

I booked a "traditional room" in the historic Ashland Springs Hotel and found it to be of European dimensions. That is, it is a room with just enough room for a queen bed and not much elbow room. Plus the bathroom looks like it was an 'afterthought" which was not in the original hotel plan. You'll find that you can't open both the bathroom door and the closet without a conflict. This is a room for sleeping and not much else.

Fortunately, the lobby is grand and spacious with a mezzanine balcony and ceiling fans that remind you that this hotel was build before the era of air-conditioning. We found that we spent much more time relaxing and doing internet based work here than in our room.

The location of the Ashland Springs Hotel is ideal for attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. You can park your car in the hotel lot and walk the rest of your time here. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the festival and a very easy walk down to the plaza.

You find a nice continental breakfast served every morning in the adjacent Lark's restaurant. This breakfast is rich with carbohydrates, fruit, and sweet things. You find some egg salad and hard boiled eggs as the major protein on the buffet. The restaurant staff does an outstanding job of keeping the buffet stocked, so be sure to put a tip in the jar.

There is also a modest 'snack bar' on the balcony level in the evenings. You'll find some popcorn, cookies, lemonade, and hot drinks. This is a nice place to compare notes about the evening's performance with other guests. We were not the only ones to bring our own bottle so we could have a after-performance drink in this lovely setting.

Next time, I will loosen the purse-strings and try a larger room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa & Salon, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.