We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and Beautiful Lobby but a Tiny Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Historic and Beautiful Lobby but a Tiny Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Okay, maybe I should have spent more money and sprung for a larger room.

I booked a "traditional room" in the historic Ashland Springs Hotel and found it to be of European dimensions. That is, it is a room with just enough room for a queen bed and not much elbow room. Plus the bathroom looks like it was an 'afterthought" which was not in the original hotel plan. You'll find that you can't open both the bathroom door and the closet without a conflict. This is a room for sleeping and not much else.

Fortunately, the lobby is grand and spacious with a mezzanine balcony and ceiling fans that remind you that this hotel was build before the era of air-conditioning. We found that we spent much more time relaxing and doing internet based work here than in our room.

The location of the Ashland Springs Hotel is ideal for attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. You can park your car in the hotel lot and walk the rest of your time here. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the festival and a very easy walk down to the plaza.

You find a nice continental breakfast served every morning in the adjacent Lark's restaurant. This breakfast is rich with carbohydrates, fruit, and sweet things. You find some egg salad and hard boiled eggs as the major protein on the buffet. The restaurant staff does an outstanding job of keeping the buffet stocked, so be sure to put a tip in the jar.

There is also a modest 'snack bar' on the balcony level in the evenings. You'll find some popcorn, cookies, lemonade, and hot drinks. This is a nice place to compare notes about the evening's performance with other guests. We were not the only ones to bring our own bottle so we could have a after-performance drink in this lovely setting.

Next time, I will loosen the purse-strings and try a larger room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    145
    31
    18
    8
See reviews for
47
223
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We keep coming back to the Ashland Springs Hotel each year, because of its reliably high level of service and comfort. Gigi, the concierge, is outstandingly warm and gracious, as are her colleagues at the front desk and at the hotel's casually elegant restaurant, Lark's.

There's really just one small area for improvement that I would recommend: the items available for the continental
breakfast are a bit too predictable. I do love the cinnamon rolls, and I hope they'll keep those, but some diversity with the other items, say having a quiche or similar egg casserole instead of always having hardboiled eggs, and maybe more seasonal expressions, like pumpkin muffins in October, would
enhance the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived at the Ashland Springs really tired and just a little cranky. We had just driven most of the day to visit Crater Lake National Park. Being on vacation we were out of touch with current events and didn't realize the park would be closed due to the shutdown. Lisa, at the front desk , was a real superstar. All I did was mention that it had been a long day and right away gave us a room upgrade with a spectacular view on the eighth floor. Right away we felt welcome and began to relax. The hotel is vintage but up to date with comfortable beds and a great shower. Parking is free, the breakfast is good and I enjoyed the nighttime snack.

Room Tip: Choose a high room overlooking downtown. The view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanford
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Ashland Springs Hotel several times, It is extremely convenient
to the theater and that is especially nice at night or when it is raining. The staff is lovely and very helpful. Lark's restaurant is excellent with a complimentary continental breakfast, The lobby and mezzanine are airy and comfortable with good seating.

The rooms can be small and there were no drawers in my room on my last stay which was inconvenient. There were narrow shelves in the closet but the arrangement did not work well.

There is only one elevator which can be busy.

However, having said all that this is the only place I would stay in Ashland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ashland Springs Hotel was comfortable, beautiful, and super convenient for watching plays at the Shakespeare Festival right across the street. Free parking, too! But you won't need your car since you will be right downtown and well cared for by the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for large king room; better room with corner windows on beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We (single women) stayed there in July and I thought the hotel was lovely. It was a very nicely updated historic building. Nice amenities as far as breakfast, cookies in the evening, and soaps and shampoos, etc. Our room was smaller than I expected for the price, a little stuffy and claustrophobic. What I didn't enjoy or appreciate at all is that at check-in, they tell you to drive around the back to unload. I assumed incorrectly there would be some sort of bellperson. I'm used to hauling my own luggage, but the parking lot is on a fairly steep hill and we had lots of luggage. You have to go into the hotel to get a luggage cart and they're hard to maneuver in the narrow halls and small elevators, and then you have to push it uphill to your car, balance it on the car somehow without scratching your car, and load your luggage while making sure the cart doesn't roll down the hill without you. Then you have to hang on to the loaded cart while rolling it back down the hill and making sure nothing falls off. It was exhausting and frustrating, It probably looked to others like a skit from the Three Stooges. What wasn't funny was that when we were leaving I watched a family with the father in a wheel chair trying to maneuver this. After repeating this process before checking out, I mentioned that they really should have a bellperson and was told if we needed help, we just had to ask. Of course, you don't know you need help till you're out in the back parking lot with no help available. For the price of the rooms, there's really no excuse for not having a bellperson. That one issue pretty much ruined my impression of the hotel. Otherwise, if you're in to historic buildings, it was fine. Good location.

Room Tip: Try Ashland Hills, their sister property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Ashland Springs Hotel while attending the wedding of our nephew. It is a historic hotel with a very lovely lobby and comfortable deep chairs next to a roaring fire so the guests can relax and regroup. The hotel front desk staff is the best and are very helpful with questions concerning the local fairs and farmer markets in town and of course suggestions for restaurants and the Shakespeare Festival. The location of the hotel cannot be beat and while the rooms are a bit dated the water was hot and plentiful in the shower and the toiletries were in abundance. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and the towels were fresh and changed both days. The parking is on the third floor making it very easy to come and go without fear of losing a spot or having to park off site. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and had a huge selection of fruit, oatmeal bagels, egg salad and boiled eggs. I highly recommend the mini muffins and cinnamon rolls. The breakfast staff were excellent and very pleasant and kept everything refilled and tables clean. I loved this hotel in this very friendly quaint town and would recommend it to my friends and I definitely would make it my home base when staying or touring this part of Oregon.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor and the views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa & Salon, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.