We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Needed When We Needed It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just What We Needed When We Needed It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived at the Ashland Springs really tired and just a little cranky. We had just driven most of the day to visit Crater Lake National Park. Being on vacation we were out of touch with current events and didn't realize the park would be closed due to the shutdown. Lisa, at the front desk , was a real superstar. All I did was mention that it had been a long day and right away gave us a room upgrade with a spectacular view on the eighth floor. Right away we felt welcome and began to relax. The hotel is vintage but up to date with comfortable beds and a great shower. Parking is free, the breakfast is good and I enjoyed the nighttime snack.

Room Tip: Choose a high room overlooking downtown. The view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    141
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
44
217
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
stanford
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Ashland Springs Hotel several times, It is extremely convenient
to the theater and that is especially nice at night or when it is raining. The staff is lovely and very helpful. Lark's restaurant is excellent with a complimentary continental breakfast, The lobby and mezzanine are airy and comfortable with good seating.

The rooms can be small and there were no drawers in my room on my last stay which was inconvenient. There were narrow shelves in the closet but the arrangement did not work well.

There is only one elevator which can be busy.

However, having said all that this is the only place I would stay in Ashland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ashland Springs Hotel was comfortable, beautiful, and super convenient for watching plays at the Shakespeare Festival right across the street. Free parking, too! But you won't need your car since you will be right downtown and well cared for by the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for large king room; better room with corner windows on beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We (single women) stayed there in July and I thought the hotel was lovely. It was a very nicely updated historic building. Nice amenities as far as breakfast, cookies in the evening, and soaps and shampoos, etc. Our room was smaller than I expected for the price, a little stuffy and claustrophobic. What I didn't enjoy or appreciate at all is that at check-in, they tell you to drive around the back to unload. I assumed incorrectly there would be some sort of bellperson. I'm used to hauling my own luggage, but the parking lot is on a fairly steep hill and we had lots of luggage. You have to go into the hotel to get a luggage cart and they're hard to maneuver in the narrow halls and small elevators, and then you have to push it uphill to your car, balance it on the car somehow without scratching your car, and load your luggage while making sure the cart doesn't roll down the hill without you. Then you have to hang on to the loaded cart while rolling it back down the hill and making sure nothing falls off. It was exhausting and frustrating, It probably looked to others like a skit from the Three Stooges. What wasn't funny was that when we were leaving I watched a family with the father in a wheel chair trying to maneuver this. After repeating this process before checking out, I mentioned that they really should have a bellperson and was told if we needed help, we just had to ask. Of course, you don't know you need help till you're out in the back parking lot with no help available. For the price of the rooms, there's really no excuse for not having a bellperson. That one issue pretty much ruined my impression of the hotel. Otherwise, if you're in to historic buildings, it was fine. Good location.

Room Tip: Try Ashland Hills, their sister property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Ashland Springs Hotel while attending the wedding of our nephew. It is a historic hotel with a very lovely lobby and comfortable deep chairs next to a roaring fire so the guests can relax and regroup. The hotel front desk staff is the best and are very helpful with questions concerning the local fairs and farmer markets in town and of course suggestions for restaurants and the Shakespeare Festival. The location of the hotel cannot be beat and while the rooms are a bit dated the water was hot and plentiful in the shower and the toiletries were in abundance. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and the towels were fresh and changed both days. The parking is on the third floor making it very easy to come and go without fear of losing a spot or having to park off site. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and had a huge selection of fruit, oatmeal bagels, egg salad and boiled eggs. I highly recommend the mini muffins and cinnamon rolls. The breakfast staff were excellent and very pleasant and kept everything refilled and tables clean. I loved this hotel in this very friendly quaint town and would recommend it to my friends and I definitely would make it my home base when staying or touring this part of Oregon.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor and the views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ashland is a very cute small community on the Cali / Oregon border. There are numerous hotels and even very quaint motels that are available. The hotel is historical and the lobby is beautiful. Its the tallest building in town and the views of the countryside from the higher levels are excellent. However - it is very overpriced and it seems to cater to the geriatric snobbish crowd. My wife and I spent a night on our way back to San Francisco after a long road trip and as we were not dressed in our best we were looked down upon and even treated a bit rudely from the reception.
MY ADVICE - SAVE SOME MONEY, GO SOMEPLACE ELSE

Room Tip: Go with any other place - Ashland is a walkable little town
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in a very nice corner suite on the third floor that afforded us a great view of the valley and hills to the east of Ashland. The third floor also happened to be on the same level as the hotel parking lot, as well as the Oregon Shakespeare Festival a block away. Reserving our room a few months ahead of time got us quite a good deal for the money. Due to a medical emergency, I had to move our stay there back nearly a month which actually made the price of our room cheaper, being outside the normal tourist season for Ashland. Judging from the other reviews I've read on this hotel, it is obviously worth paying a little more for a better room.

Room Tip: Staying on the third floor puts you at the same level as the hotel parking lot and the Oregon Shakes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa & Salon, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.