We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful and No Complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful and No Complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

During our two week trip through Oregon, Washington, and California, we had the opportunity to spend two nights in room 323 at the Ashland Springs Hotel. It was wonderful!

The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, providing a welcoming environment and seemed genuinely pleased to have us in the hotel. Even when we accidentally stayed an extra night (we thought we had booked two nights but through a typo had only booked one) they did not make us feel bad at all and went the extra mile to keep us in our room.

Room 323 is at the back of the hotel. It was quiet and comfortable. This is an old hotel, so the room was not big, and the bathroom had only a shower, no tub; however, there was real tile, and plenty of water pressure. There was a writing desk, chair with lamp, television, and refrigerator. Wi-fi was available in the room and included in the price of the room.

The hotel serves cookies, popcorn, lemonade, and tea from 9:00 p.m. until midnight which worked out well for those of us seeing shows at the Shakespeare festival. Speaking of the festival, you can't go wrong staying here because it is within walking distance of the festival. We parked our car and did not move it until we left Ashland.

Breakfast was included. It was a continental breakfast with cereal, yogurt, toast, and fresh fruit. Nothing fancy, but it was enough to start the day.

If you want to step back in time to the grandeur of the 1920s, we highly recommend staying at the Ashland Springs Hotel, and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    141
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
44
217
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were so impressed by our first visit last fall to this historic hotel that we decided to return in the summer and catch a play during the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. We found the hotel just as clean and well-maintained as before. It's been a dozen years since the extensive restoration of this landmark, but the rooms show little visible wear. During our first visit, the front desk staff struck us as professional and polite, but rather cold. This time they seemed more welcoming. What was cold, fortunately, was the air-conditioning in Ashland's 99 degree weather. The hotel may have a 1925 ambience, but the HVAC system is up to date. We also appreciated the soft but supportive bed and bedding, a trick some expensive hotels can't seem to master.

We took advantage of the hotel's Shakespeare Festival package, only available on Sunday nights, which offers a room, play tickets for two, and a $30 credit at Lark's Restaurant in the hotel. The tickets turned out to be for good seats, but we were disappointed by the food and service at Lark's this time, and would probably only use the $30 credit on some pre-play appetizers if we were to purchase the package again. There are plenty of other good restaurants close to the hotel. In fact, there is no hotel or B & B that can match the Ashland Springs Hotel for location to shops, restaurants and the theaters. This hotel would probably be full even if it was a dump, but it is anything but. In most respects, it's better than it has to be. As I said in my last review, however, it may be Oregon's tallest B & B. As in most historic hotels, the rooms have high ceilings and tall windows, but little floor space. There is no pool or anyplace for kids to run around, so it is far more suited to the older couples that seem to make up the bulk of the customers. As for the breakfast part of B & B, the "Expanded Continental Breakfast" here is really just continental. The pastries are fresh and good, augmented by a couple of high-fiber cereals, but come on people, even the Rodeway Inn has a waffle maker now. Hotels five times more expensive should too.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and a mini-fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for the passed few years while attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and really enjoyed our stay. It is close to everything we needed. The rooms are small but comfortable. Clean and very friendly staff. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Gi Gi the Concierge at this Hotel is absolutely fabulous.She arranged a last minute private wine tasting for myself and my father. It was both elegant and an incredible bargain. She also made several dining recommendations that were all outstanding. Our Room was on the small side as are almost all rooms in older historical hotels. However it was elegantly appointed and glisteningly clean. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. If you are staying in Ashland this is by far the best hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

PERFECT location if you're a theater goer! It's a 1-2 minute walk from the back door of the hotel to OSF. Room was a nice size and pretty, and the bed was very comfy. Views are probably beautiful from the front, but we looked out back onto the parking lot and hills. The continental breakfast was served in the hotel's restaurant (nice atmosphere) and was tasty.

Unfortunately, service and maintenance were lacking given the room price. On check-in, staff was unfriendly and never brought an extra luggage rack after two phone calls requesting one and two promises on their part to bring one. Service improved greatly on day 2, though. We thought we were going to need to change rooms, which was a result of my booking an extra night later and would have been no problem. Day 2 staff was able to keep us in the same room and also sent up another luggage rack in about 15 minutes, apologizing profusely for the previous day's lack of service. As for the room, two lightbulbs were out, there were places in the bathroom that could have been cleaner, and a drop of water fell from the vent in the bathroom ceiling every 10 seconds. No big deal, but it did seem that corners were being cut a bit. It wasn't the five star experience I was hoping for, but still overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Yes, the rooms are smallish in this gem of a hotel harkening back to a gentler era, but the rate is comparable to a B&B and also includes an ample continental breakfast buffet with plenty of fresh fruit and coffee that's considerably better than what's served in most hotels. (I actually wanted a second cup.) The Oregon Shakespeare Festival theaters are a few blocks away and easily walkable.

A $30 flat fee (not "per night") also allows your pooch to stay with you on the third floor, which has a rear hillside exit onto side streets for "walks" — much more convenient than always going downstairs through the lobby. The hotel staff — and especially housekeepers — make a point of greeting four-footed guests and seem unperturbed by the occasional bark.

The Ashland Springs Hotel has some of the best customer service (including the front desk, service employees, adjoining spa personnel, and restaurant wait staff) that I've run across. Thank you for making me feel like a GUEST rather than a customer.

Room Tip: If you're here over the 4th of July, ask for a room on Main Street so you can watch the parade f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel that has been restored. We had a king room & though our room was on the small side, it was very comfortable. They serve a nice continental breakfast in the morning in their dining room. Fruit was fresh, coffee plentiful & muffins tasty.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa & Salon, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.