We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great concierge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great concierge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Gi Gi the Concierge at this Hotel is absolutely fabulous.She arranged a last minute private wine tasting for myself and my father. It was both elegant and an incredible bargain. She also made several dining recommendations that were all outstanding. Our Room was on the small side as are almost all rooms in older historical hotels. However it was elegantly appointed and glisteningly clean. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. If you are staying in Ashland this is by far the best hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    150
    34
    18
    8
See reviews for
48
240
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

PERFECT location if you're a theater goer! It's a 1-2 minute walk from the back door of the hotel to OSF. Room was a nice size and pretty, and the bed was very comfy. Views are probably beautiful from the front, but we looked out back onto the parking lot and hills. The continental breakfast was served in the hotel's restaurant (nice atmosphere) and was tasty.

Unfortunately, service and maintenance were lacking given the room price. On check-in, staff was unfriendly and never brought an extra luggage rack after two phone calls requesting one and two promises on their part to bring one. Service improved greatly on day 2, though. We thought we were going to need to change rooms, which was a result of my booking an extra night later and would have been no problem. Day 2 staff was able to keep us in the same room and also sent up another luggage rack in about 15 minutes, apologizing profusely for the previous day's lack of service. As for the room, two lightbulbs were out, there were places in the bathroom that could have been cleaner, and a drop of water fell from the vent in the bathroom ceiling every 10 seconds. No big deal, but it did seem that corners were being cut a bit. It wasn't the five star experience I was hoping for, but still overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Yes, the rooms are smallish in this gem of a hotel harkening back to a gentler era, but the rate is comparable to a B&B and also includes an ample continental breakfast buffet with plenty of fresh fruit and coffee that's considerably better than what's served in most hotels. (I actually wanted a second cup.) The Oregon Shakespeare Festival theaters are a few blocks away and easily walkable.

A $30 flat fee (not "per night") also allows your pooch to stay with you on the third floor, which has a rear hillside exit onto side streets for "walks" — much more convenient than always going downstairs through the lobby. The hotel staff — and especially housekeepers — make a point of greeting four-footed guests and seem unperturbed by the occasional bark.

The Ashland Springs Hotel has some of the best customer service (including the front desk, service employees, adjoining spa personnel, and restaurant wait staff) that I've run across. Thank you for making me feel like a GUEST rather than a customer.

Room Tip: If you're here over the 4th of July, ask for a room on Main Street so you can watch the parade f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel that has been restored. We had a king room & though our room was on the small side, it was very comfortable. They serve a nice continental breakfast in the morning in their dining room. Fruit was fresh, coffee plentiful & muffins tasty.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

You can park your car for free and you won't need to get into it again until you leave. Everything is nearby and I felt very comfortable walking everywhere. The rooms are small, but are clean and have all the necessities. The air conditioning kept the room comfortable. The breakfasts of fruit juice, coffee, fresh fruit, muffins, hard boiled eggs and oatmeal provide a good start to the day. The restaurant, Larks, is known for good food, but if you don't have reservations you could get stuck eating out on the sidewalk in the heat--kind of ruins what could have been a great meal. No room service.

Room Tip: My room on the third floor facing the street had a nice view of the town and the surrounding mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had to be in Ashland for 2 nights. Decent hotel with a great lobby and staff. The room (mine was 512) is unusually small. While I understand the hotel is old there is no reason for a room to be 100 sq ft +,-. Also there is no room service but many restaurants close by.l ll'

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Ashland Springs Hotel is an historic building. That and the deal they offer for tickets to the Shakespeare Festival made us want to stay there. Unfortunately, they were booked up the first night we needed, but available the next night, so we chose their sister location, Lithia Springs for the first night then moved to Ashland Springs for the second night.

Our stay at Lithia Springs was perfect. The cottages are spacious and plush with a large 2-person jaccuzi that you can fill with tap water or the natural spring water (which smells horrible, but is supposed to be very good for your skin) or a combination of both. There is a fireplace and sitting room and big comfortable bed. The area is quaint with beautiful flora and the complimentary breakfast was delicious, especially the fresh scones.

The next night at Ashland Springs was not so great. We had been traveling throughout Oregon for 2 weeks, so we had a good deal of luggage to bring in as we don't want to leave it in the car. Since there is no bell service, you must get a luggage cart and bring it out to your car to load. The difficulty here is that the entrance in the back from the parking lot is up a steep incline. Thank goodness I do P90X or I don't think my husband and I would've made it up the ramp! Once inside, you must wait for the ONE VERY TINY elevator to your room. We were on the top floor, so it took us forever. Without luggage I suppose you could take the stairs.

I know the rooms are old, but they smelled really musty and there were stains on the sheets. We also had to kill two bugs (not bedbugs, thank goodness) that were in the small room and bathroom. The bed was ok and the view was nice.

We were given a voucher for $30 off of the restaurant that attached to the hotel, but then we were told it was closed early for a private party and there were no reservations available for the early times before our play (making the voucher useless). The breakfast in the morning was standard continental fare and they kept running out of everything, including coffee! I wanted to go back and sneak into the Lithia Springs breakfast room! They also had no newspapers available; the less-than-friendly front desk person sent me down the street to Starbucks.

It is extremely convenient if you are going to the plays as they are just a short walk up the hill, but I would still stay out at Lithia Springs and make the 10 minute drive. Both locations offer the ticket package and our seats were perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa & Salon, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.