We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Bismarck, ND
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very quaint Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference and loved it. Nice staff and great ambiance . Rooms are smaller but for how I used the room it was just fine. Very quiet and peaceful. Great walking trails near hotel. Loved the town of Ashland. Would come back here

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    141
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
44
217
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Junction City, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We will not stay at this hotel again. We had a nice but unremarkable stay until the final day, when we went out for breakfast and returned to find the maid cleaning our room, even though it was mid-morning and we hadn't checked out yet. We couldn't use the restroom again, make a final survey of the room to see if we had left any valuable items, or just sit & visit in the suite area for which we had paid a high price. The worst, however, was the maid had thrown out $30-$40 worth of food/drink items we had accumulated over our stay & had planned to take home with us. When we reported this to the front desk we received only a wan "Sorry" & no offer to recompense us for the disposal of our property. This would be disappointing in a low-budget motel, but in a high-priced hotel it is unforgivable. A warning to anyone staying here: be aware the maid may have cleaned your room before the previous guests have checked out, & be prepared to have anything you leave unattended in your room be taken away with no recompense. Better to choose one of the many other lovely (and less expensive) options for your stay in Ashland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell Butte, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We just spent two days at the Ashland Springs Hotel as the last stop on a week long get away. The hotel has been a landmark since the 1920s and is on the National Historic Register. Our room had a king bed and a view of the hills across the valley. The bathroom was spacious and clean, however it suffers from the bane of tall people, a low shower head. Why do they place them so low??? Could it hurt to set them at 6 foot 6 inches? Shorter folks would be just fine, and us more vertically enhanced folks would not have to bend double to get our hair wet. The hotel offers a really complete continental breakfast and has free private parking you access with your room key. The room was tight, but a well thought our closet and a wall mounted flat screen made the best of a tough situation for the designers of the remodel. The air conditioning was very effective, and we were both pleased with the accommodation. The hotel is easy walking distance from the Shakespeare Festival theaters and is centrally located in Ashland's heart. There is a great ice cream spot right across the street. This is a jewel.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a steep hill. If you get a room on the 3rd floor you walk directly from the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Nice rooms but very small. The top sheet had a rip in it and several small holes. Headboard and night stands had not been dusted in some time. I reported this to the front desk. The sheets were changed but the room was not dusted. Even though we are staying two nights, the towels were exchanged contrary to what is posted in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ashland Springs Hotel for three nights recently. The hotel is in a historic building and has an almost southern feel...huge entry/front desk area with slow moving fans on the ceiling. There is a fireplace, plenty of seating and a bird theme. The hotel could use a little TLC, but our room was nice with a view of the parking lot. The room was clean with pretty good towels and a decent shower. The front desk staff did fine, but was mostly disinterested in being there or were pretty inexperienced. No one was rude, but they were just kind of there. Our room included a continental breakfast in the restaurant next door called Lark. It was fine, the same everyday with muffins, rolls, oatmeal, toast and bagels. The best thing about this hotel is its location. We were minutes walk from many restaurants, the park and the theatres. Overall, it was a good experience and we would stay there again, a good choice for a stay in Ashland

Room Tip: supposed to be more quiet away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, OR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Completely refurbished, all that keeps this hotel from being truly excellent is that the rooms are somewhat smaller than more modern buildings. The restoration is perfect, the staff functions well, and the prices are moderate. Most important, the hotel is in the heart of Ashland and is only a short walk from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival theatres (and by short walk, I mean a block or thereabouts).

Immediately adjoining is a very good restaurant, and other dining is close by. All in all, you simply can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Those with decreased mobility might choose the 3rd floor, which provides direct access for the walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

In years gone by, we've stayed at several small hotels and inns in the Ashland area, but now, our "home" in Ashland is The Ashland Springs Hotel. We come once a year to see a play or two. This year, we brought our 9-year-old grand-daughter AND our well-behaved dog. Both loved the hotel as much as we do!

Located right on the main street, steps away from the Ashland theaters, it's in walking distance to the plays, restaurants, shopping, parks -- you name it! The landmark hotel has been remodeled and was done with great taste. Rooms are comfortable; staff is helpful; the complimentary breakfast in the dining room is fine. We also enjoy the bar for a drink at the end of the day. Prices are very good for the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa & Salon, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.