We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel- comfortable beds but very small room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel- comfortable beds but very small room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at this beautiful hotel twice now and have enjoyed our stay each time. The staff are lovely and super friendly, breakfast is good and held on the beautiful mezzanine level overlooking the lobby. The bed was very comfortable however quite small. We have stayed in the king room (which seemed like a queen size bed) and the queen room (which was a double size bed- very small). The rooms are very small and the bathrooms are tiny! The shower in the queen suite was almost unusable as it was so small. We would happily stay here again as I believe it is the best option in Ashland however wish the rooms were a bit larger.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    141
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
44
217
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I shared a traditional king size room, and the bed took up most of the room! It is not a place for people who hang out in their rooms...because of the size of the older hotel rooms, people used to hang out in the very comfortable lobby, maybe by the fireplace in a cushy couch or comfortable chair. It's an acceptable spot to socialize or people-watch without being alone in your room. Love it! Hotel lobbies should be so inviting!

The bed was VERY comfortable, with stacks of pillows. And the location can't be beat for attending the Shakespeare festival; it's a short walk to anywhere in downtown Ashland. If you moderate your modern expectations towards huge rooms with spacious bathrooms, you'll enjoy one of the best hotels in Ashland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second visit to the Ashland Springs Hotel and we procured it via a Travelzoo coupon. What a deal! Not only is the hotel historic, beautiful and beautifully decorated, but the staff is so friendly and helpful. We inquired about checking in early so we could lock valuables in our room before attending an OSF play. Our room was not ready, but they kindly asked if they could put us in a king room one floor lower. This would be my hotel choicel every year when I attend OSF because of location, ambience, beauty, the perfect bed, and the yummy breakfast with lots of fresh, unsugared Marion berries!!! Our complimentary Waterstone Spa certificate was a delightful introduction to a treat we will incorporate in our next visit to Ashland.

Room Tip: A corner room will give you tons of light through large windows facing in two directions. We faced b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A recent trip to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival in Ashland led me to this historic hotel in the downtown area. In the 60's it was called The Mark Anthony, but has undergone a renovation. The facade and outer shell of the hotel is the same as it has appeared for years, but the inside has changed. There is no bar where it was originally, having been changed to a banquet room which saw no usage during my stay. The lobby has been refreshed and is beautiful. My room, however, did have a few problems. One night, the smoke detector above the bed began loudly beeping at 11 p.m. and had to be taken care of at that hour. A man was dispatched, but his ladder was too short, and although he tried to get it down, he was not able to and pulled the unit out of the ceiling, thereby taking care of the noise, but not able to fix the unit until the next day. The sink plug was broken, the shower curtain was broken off some of the hooks, and the curtain in the bedroom was also askew. The hotel is in a wonderfully central location for the theatres, is clean, and has a nice little breakfast. I felt that perhaps the routine maintence was not as well taken care of as it should have been. I would not choose the hotel again, given the wide choice of accommodation in Ashland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Pine, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice, luxury accommodations in the heart of town. Quiet, romantic and charming - although standard rooms are a bit small for two people. The adjoining Lark Restaurant is also a very good dinner choice. Very good service all around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This historic hotel in downtown Ashland, OR has had a complete restoration. Our corner room was smallish and comfortable with a king bed, a small loveseat, and a desk. Everything was nicely decorated. Shops and restaurants are close on the same street. The hotel restaurant is a quality dining experience. We were there on a weeknight and it was full.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is adorable, well maintained, spotlessly clean, and one the favorite places we stayed during our 9 day journey through the Pacific Northwest. It also has a decent continental breakfast in the morning that is included with the price of the room, and it is walking distance to all the shops, theatres, restaurants, pubs and brewery in Ashland.

Unfortunately we stayed here on a Sunday night while driving from Portland, OR to San Francisco, CA. According to the reviews, people mentioned to ask for a room on the front side of the hotel because it has a better view. But on a Sunday night, be sure to ask for a room on the back side, or you will be awoken around 5am with a symphony of street sounds, including the street sweeper, the Sysco Delivery truck (which idled loudly outside our window for over an hour), and the garbage truck, all completely audible in our room on the 4th floor. Thankfully I'd gone to bed around 10pm, so at least I got a full nights sleep, as the noise went on too long to get back to sleep again!

Notes: The theaters have shows Wednesday night to Sunday afternoon, so many of the shops and restaurants take Monday and Tuesday off, and are therefore closed. Also, there are many street people around downtown, and they can get aggressive. It is best to completely ignore them, do not make eye contact, and keep walking even if they heckle and/or follow you!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side have a better view, but stay on the back side if it's Sunday night due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa & Salon, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.