We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming historic hotel, great service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Portland, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming historic hotel, great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This National Historic Registry hotel was renovated in 1998, we read, and is lovely. It truly feels like a step back in time, as another reviewer noted, but with all the modern amenities. The complimentary continental breakfast is served in a balcony mezzanine overlooking the lobby and included delicious pastries in addition to cereal, juices, yogurt and hard-boiled eggs. We were on a package that included a meal allocation, so we had lunch in the onsite restaurant called Lark's. It was fantastic! The concierge was also friendly and very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the local attractions - a fun person to meet! All in all, we'll plan to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    142
    31
    18
    8
See reviews for
46
220
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

For years, I have wanted to stay at this Historic Hotel It was built in 1925, but recently went through drastic modernization (plumbing, electrical, etc) so it still felt like a step back in time, with a very comfortable king size bed with down comforter. Our room came with champagne and chocolate, and comfortable robes for each of us. Our stay was just 2 nights, but we were treated very well. We had tickets to a play at the Oregon Shakespearean Festival, which was just 2 short blocks away. There was breakfast included each morning, a very basic cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juices, coffee and tea, but met the basic need for food. I would stay there again in a heart beat. We also had included a visit to the spa, which was just a half block away, but we didn't use that option, so cannot comment on the service there. Location is perfect, with an excellent restaurant on premises, Lark, which I will go to, even if I am not staying at the hotel. Best farm to table food I have ever had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

One night stop that we will repeat in the future. Stopped on our way to Sunny California. ASH was great value in a historic property. Our room was a bit small but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast and internet was included along with a AAA Rate that was very reasonable. Decided at the last minute to book seats for My Fair Lady at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The hotel is pet friendly and the room across had two dogs in it tha tbarked when we walked down the hall during the day, but were quiet at night. No problem and for us no issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful elegant hotel. Very well restored. We enjoyed our stay, which was for our anniversary, very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was very good and relaxing..not a bunch of kids running around, etc. Our room was a little small, but was actually perfect for the two of us. The only thing was that there wasn't any bathroom counter space, but a small glass shelf running the length of the bathroom made it workable. We would definitely return is the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this hotel and enjoyed it much better without our dog. The reason: the pet friendly rooms required a compromise.

Our rooms in the past have been roomy (well roomy for this type of boutique hotel). They have had charming bathrooms that felt airy.

So we took our dog unaware that we would have to stay on the third floor. Our prt friendly room was much smaller and bordered on hilariously compact. The bathroom was pure ridiculousness.

Either way, the hotel is nice and tries to be more upscale than it really is. It strives and that alone makes it a place I like. Just leave your dog at home to avoid of these rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We pass through Ashland en route to the Bay area several times a year. We ALWAYS choose the Ashland Springs Hotel for our overnight stay. The sunny yellows, the framed botanicals, a roaring fire, and super friendly staff make for an inviting welcome and relaxed stay each and every time. The rooms are European in size, owing to the nearly 100 year old age of the building. Top-of-the-line linens and amenities, immaculate housekeeping, and a tasty breakfast more than make up for the loss of a few square feet. The hotel is in the heart of downtown Ashland so walking to everything is easy and pleasurable. The restaurant Amuse and retail shop Prize are within blocks and are not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This beautiful hotel, circa 1925 is in the heart of the city of Ashland. The hotel personnel are very accommodating with all your needs. The rooms are small but have been recently refurbished and very comfortable with every amenity you would need for a comfortable stay. We had a sixth floor room with beautiful views. For such a small area, the room was laid out so that everything was easily accessible and the bathroom was very nice, however, it doesn't have a heater, and because it was winter, a bit chilly. I wish we could have stayed longer to explore the downtown, but 20 degree weather did not permit it at this time. We will stay again and have time to explore.

Room Tip: Try for an upper floor with views to east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa & Salon, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.