We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restored Period Hotel in a Wonderful Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restored Period Hotel in a Wonderful Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Ashland, Oregon is wonderful and this is the best place to stay to explore all the downtown, unique small shops, great restaurants, world-class theaters and enjoyable parks. All within walking distance. The hotel's restaurant is one of the best.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    159
    36
    19
    8
See reviews for
52
254
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great place to stay. My only gripe is that the mattress was worn out. It was like sleeping in a soft saucer. Went to another hotel after two days and was much better. I hope to hear that they update the mattresses so that I can stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The location of this Hotel is awesome, you get to walk to everything. The front desk was courteous, and the concierge even had treats for our dog. We appreciated the discount coupon for the restaurant next door - it was a delicious place for lunch.
We stayed at the Ashland Springs Hotel because of a special event held there, so we were able to explore all over the place. The room was comfortable, and continental breakfast good.

Room Tip: Third floor has direct access to the parking lot. Good if you take your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Chapter 1

I just got royally shafted!!! I booked on the hotel website, only to find out that it takes you to Hotels.com. Not apparent until too late. Room listed was "best available rate" however come to find out there were several lower rates available. Irritating for sure. When I asked desk if they could do anything, of course "it is out of our hands". I asked if the hotel could comp me something so that I wouldn't feel so ripped off. "We can't do that, you are Hotels.com" says they, "I am not asking hotels.com to comp me, I am asking you to throw me something, says I". Got 10% of lunch. Plan to make Bring all my friends to make sure 10% equals the difference. Haven't decided about the tip.

Chapter 2

Pulled up website again, just to figure out what went wrong. I managed to get off of the brokered sites and to the hotel inventory. Guess What. I am paying 43% more than THE BEST AVAILABLE RATE. Now I am furious. The room isn't big enough to turn around in let alone storm angerly up and down so I am taking it to the internet. I am a very well traveled person, both domestically and internationally so I am really P. O. at getting snookered in Ashland, Oregon
Shame on me for not being more careful, shame on the hotel for such horrible customer relations.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Director of Sales at Ashland Springs Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Good afternoon I v,
Thank you for taking time to write this review. I understand your frustration and this is a great warning for all the travelers out there who use Internet to make their reservations: always making sure we go to the hotel/inn website, instead of the third party site.

We have had many issues with Hotels.com pretending (or hiding from the customers) the fact that they did not contact Ashland Springs Hotel directly. We have contacted them several times and they claim it is up to the customer to know what site they land on. Unbelievable!!

Your comment "I booked on the hotel website, only to find out that it takes you to Hotels.com" is incorrect. When you go to Ashland Springs Hotel website and click on RESERVATIONS button, it takes you to CoHo Res, which is our booking engine.

Hotels.com pre-charges for a reservation made on their website and thus we cannot refund or change it, however if you choose to stay with us in the future, we would be more than happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade. Please do not hesitate to contact our Sales Department.
Respectfully, Karolina Wyszynska, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, OR
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had read reviews about the Ashland Springs Hotel. One woman said that the beds were too high for her to get into, although we never had a problem. Others said that the rooms were so small that it made them claustrophobic. It's an old hotel, and like most old places, the rooms were small. Really, it was a little tight, but not too bad. We had a corner room overlooking Ashland, on the ninth floor. Fantastic! The bed was comfortable, and there was a frosted window in the bath/shower. The bathroom was roomy, and the whole place was tastefully decorated. The lobby was beautiful, the clerk friendly and helpful and the parking lot (entrance limited to hotel card key-carrying guests) was large and convenient. It helped a lot that a really good restaurant was part of the hotel. That would be Larks, where we had dinner and then breakfast (breakfast, a buffet, was included). Did I mention that the hotel is right in the middle of downtown Ashland, perfect for shopping, eating, visiting the park or seeing a play? I'm really glad that we decided to try a different hotel this time, and the price made it an excellent value.

Room Tip: Get a corner room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were in Ashland for the Shakespeare productions and the Ashland Springs Hotel is quite convenient. The atmosphere maintains the historic character of the place and the staff could not have treated us better. They were very professional and courteous. The rooms are luxuriously outfitted,much like quality European hotels, and impeccably maintained. The breakfast was superb, good selection and everything fresh. We were on an upper floor and had great views of the area,whic was beautiful in October. Ashland has much more to offer beyond the theatre, with fine galleries and cultural events at the university. We definitely will stay again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on upper floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stay at the Ashland Springs Hotel when we visit the Theater in this charming City. Often, the hotel is full, so book far ahead. The corner rooms are ideal, we usually prefer a room with twin beds. The rooms, and bathrooms are small, but nicely appointed and relaxing. The proximity to the Theater area, shopping and restaurants, is excellent. The restaurant downstairs is very nice for every meal, including the complimentary continental breakfast for hotel guests. We like the lobby, a great place to sit and people watch. The wine hour is especially nice, where we often visit with the most interesting people from the West Coast and beyond. This is a well run establishment, and a beautiful property.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.