We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Grass Valley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ashland Springs Hotel is a very nice historic hotel in the middle of Ashland. My husband and I celebrated my 55th birthday there and it is the perfect place to stay as you can walk to restaurants and shops. The rooms are a bit small but we had a nice corner room with a great view of town and the mountains with beautiful fall colors. I stayed here a couple of years ago and breakfast was served on the veranda which I liked much more then breakfast in the restaurant, the food was better too. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there in the future. The staff was very helpful as I needed to change my reservation and they accommodated my request without a problem. They also remembered it was my birthday and left me a bottle of champagne and truffles, great surprise after a day of traveling.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have two windows which I liked for the views of town and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    142
    31
    18
    8
See reviews for
46
220
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you're looking for a historic experience (and you should be if you're in Ashland for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival), this is the place. That said, the hotel was built in 1925, and like a classic automobile of that vintage, it can't hope to compare with its modern equivalents for performance, comfort or convenience. The rooms and bathrooms are indeed small and a bit difficult to maneuver around in without bumping into something, but with high ceilings and expansive views from the corner rooms, they are light and not at all claustrophobic. We were upgraded, for free, to a king bed corner view room and found it classically stylish and cosy, with a comfortable bed and quality bathroom amenities. The deep soaking tub has a very high stepover to use for the shower.

The historic lobby is also a bit smaller than it appear in photos, but the original windows, floor tiles and artifacts are fascinating. Lark's Restaurant, on the premises, offers wonderful local Northwest cuisine and wines in a 1920s bar ambience, but as in the hotel rooms, they have crushed too much furniture into a small space. The service was warm and efficient, but be prepared to spend at least two hours dining. This is not the place for squirming children, though some were there. In general, the hotel is not set up for children, though it welcomes them. The rooms are too small for families and there is really no place for children to go outside the rooms. Think of the Ashland Springs Hotel as a really tall bed and breakfast. Breakfast, by the way, is continental, not a full hot breakfast, but includes quality coffee and pastries.

We found the service to be coolly efficient. Check in and check out took far less than a minute each, but even though we were the only guests at the desk at the time, the staff members seemed to want to end the transaction as soon as possible and get back to whatever they were doing. Yet, without mentioning it, they upgraded our room. We felt the staff would have responded to any needs or requests, they just didn't project any kind of warmth, except for one young man who met us in the parking lot and told us quite a bit about Ashland and nearby restaurants. Since only front desk staff wear any kind of uniform, we weren't entirely sure if he worked for the hotel or not. Employees at Lark's were more relaxed and friendly.

The Ashland Springs Hotel is not like a modern suite-style hotel, but that is also its charm. If you are looking for a trip into the past, located steps from the Shakespeare Festival theaters and Lithia Park, with a commanding view of Ashland and the surrounding mountains, you will enjoy your stay immensely.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views, the higher the better, but rooms on the back side, away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Ashland Springs Hotel in the heart of Ashland is a lovely and quaint hotel in the perfect location in downtown. The room was very small, making it quaint with a bathroom that was even smaller. When two people are traveling, it is nice to have a skosch more room. A few of the front desk staff were not very friendly.....however the young ones were very nice. It's a good thing we didn't really need any help finding anything because we would not have found it with a few of their folks at the desk.

The town is quite upscale...plenty of lovely shopping and eating...it closes down early but very nice to walk around, especially in the crisp weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for quite a few years. It is convienient to the theater and most people visiting Ashland are in town to attend the OSF productions. We have stayed at quite a few places in the town on earlier trips, including elegant B and B's, but prefer the Ashland Springs. The service is always friendly and accomodating. We love the antique botanical decor. The rooms can be on the smallish size so ask for a larger one. Dinner at their Lark's restaurant is always wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a birthday weekend at the Shakespeare festival. We stayed in their top room accommodations. The room was fine (we were hardly ever there) but they made some odd design choices. The rain-style shower head is right in the middle of the tub, so it dripped on me as I took a bath. The shelf over the sink sticks out, so you bump your head if you try to wash your face. Also there are no towel racks near the sink, they are all across the room. We were not there to watch television, but you could only see the screen from the bed, not from the sofa or chair in the sitting area. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the restaurant is lovely. I think we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We loved Ashland and the Ashland Springs Hotel. We booked a double queen bed room since everyone said those were the largest rooms (Room 711). We also bought the theatre package so we could see a play while we were there. It's an old hotel, but is elegantly furnished and very comfortable. The rooms are not huge, but certainly big enough. Our corner room only had a shower (no tub) and a single basin. We had a small refrigerator which we liked. The hotel has a mezzanine where you can get afternoon tea and after dinner tea (no coffee or tea making facilities in the room). The staff are not very sophiticated but pleasant enough. The hotel has a private parking lot at the back of the hotel. There is no bell service so you need to be prepared to get your luggage to the room. The elevator is not very fast or large.

Room Tip: As for a corner room with two queen beds on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The rooms are decidedly small but nice in this center of town hotel near the theaters, nothing more than two blocks away. With one elevator though, and nine stories, you can wait long to go up and down (no doorman so expect no help) or you can take the stairs, okay if you are within the first four floors.
Rooms are basic. Bed, bathroom, very small closet, flat-screen television. Some with couch, some without. The lay-outs range a bit, so if you plan to spend time in the room, make sure to ask for a larger one. See if you can get one that does not face directly onto the street (or is on a lower level) since most rooms face the town's main street, which can be noisy during the day, no so at night. Rooms are air-conditioned. Nice beds, warm with good pillows.
The breakfast served is very basic -- oatmeal, toast, fruit -- and the food at the hotel is so-so. No bar in the evening after theater, which is disappointing. Go down the street for coffee at the little shop that serves from the sidewalk, called New Hudson, I think. No gym but for $5 you have access to one about four blocks away. It has every conceivable machine, so it turns out not to be a bad deal.
Service is okay. Not swift, not looking to bend over backwards. If you don't like your room ask for a new one and push, otherwise you may just be shrugged off. Cascade Taxi services hotel from Medford Airport, about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room or one not directly facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa & Salon, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.