We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful totally updated hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ashland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ashland to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   565 Clover Lane, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful totally updated hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Again chose a hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and again we were not disappointed! This Holiday Inn Express was fabulous....everything you need for a pleasurable stay....nice room, large flat screen TV, free high speed internet, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, etc. Complimentary breakfast was the best I've seen...not just breads, juice & coffee, but always had 2 hot food choices plus bacon, sausage, fruit, cereal, etc. Also had an indoor pool/spa & a small exercise room. Staff was friendly & price was right ($119). Apparently it was recently updated and it shows! We were there for Shakespeare and it too was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    39
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
45
46
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The hotel is relatively new and quite clean. The rooms have micro-wave and a fridge and the air conditioning works well and is relatively quiet.
However during our three day stay the advertised "free wi-fi" only worked about 10% of the time. We were told it was "too hot" and offers to help fix it were unwelcome. Those of us who do our banking, mail, and business by internet are really at a disadvantage, even when on vacation f there is no internet connectivity.
Most disappointing was the fact we left on the third day at 10 am returned at 5:30 pm and found the room untouched. We were told that although there was no "do not disturb" sign they "thought we must be in" because no-one answered the door (?!?)
The staff seemed very nice but clueless.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We have been staying at the Ashland HI Express since it opened. The hotel just finished a major renovation. We attend the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and stay at the hotel - even though it isn't within walking distance of the theaters and downtown Ashland. The staff at the hotel is always cordial and helpful. The rooms are quiet in spite of the fact that the hotel is located adjacent to Interstate 5. We have never had a problem with noise from the freeway or from adjacent rooms.
The new renovation includes a complete remodeling of the lobby and breakfast area. All of the carpets throughout the hotel are new. New flat screen TVs have been added to the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

This was the first stop on a 12 day road trip. We found the hotel to be very clean, comfortable and accomodating. The rooms were very spacious. The hotel is new and in a good location. The complimentary hot breakfast in the morning had something for everyone in our family.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton City, WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Stayed just one night in Ashland (as a stop between our home in Eastern Washington and our final destination in Northern California). We typically pick Holiday Inn Express locations because they usually accept dogs (as did this one); they are not too expensive; and I usually get pretty good service as I am a Platinum member of Holiday Inn's frequent stayer program. We arrived around 9 p.m. and had no problem checking in. Our reservation was in order and we got into our room, which was a large room (with 2 queen beds) and near the side entrance which was convenient. However, our key cards did not work at the side entrance... we went back to the front desk and they re-set them... at least one did work on the outside door... but later that night and then again the next morning, we had a problem with the outside door. Clearly, that lock needed some work. Overall the room was OK, but the lock problem was an annoyance.

  • Liked — accepts pets, but no really good walking area
  • Disliked — key cards not working
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

I stayed there for two nights and really enjoyed my stay. Front desk and other staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a full breakfast bar, very ample food. The breakfast room is rather small though and on one day there was no place to sit and I had to take the breakfast plate outside to eat. The bedroom was pretty large and very clean with a nice view of the hills. The bed was VERY comfortable. The carpet in the hallways looks a little old and could be replaced. My room was away from the freeway and was very quiet. The hotel is a few minutes drive from the downtown Shakespeare festival but I brought my bicycle and enjoyed the 15 minute bike ride to downtown. This is a smaller holiday inn and has a nicer, more intimate, relaxed feeling. A good value for the price.

  • Liked — congenial staff and quiet friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — the carpet in the hallways was too old.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

We have always been curious about this hotel because it looks clean, new, and has an indoor pool, but were hesitant to stay there b/c it was not within walking distance from the theaters. On this short trip with just my husband and 2 kids (both less than 5 years old), we decided to try it out.

The front desk staff were very courteous and checkin and checkout were fast. The rooms were clean and spacious and contained the amenities listed. It was also nice to have 2 sinks. The free wireless internet worked easily. My entire family loved the indoor pool (no sunscreen to worry about!), and they even kept it stocked with pool towels. Although we didn't use it, it was nice to know there was a small fitness center (I believe there was a treadmill and a stationary bike). Finally, the free breakfast was great. My husband said it would have been a perfect breakfast if it had included a waffle station as some of the other places we have stayed have, but I thought it was lovely the way it was with various pastries, yogurts, cereals, eggs, sausage, and bacon.

Going forward, I think we will always stay here anytime we aren't traveling with our family members for whom being able to walk to the theaters is a priority. Aside from that one detail, it was a near-perfect experience for our young family.

  • Liked — Clean and new, well-laid out
  • Disliked — Not walking distance from theaters
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ashland

Address: 565 Clover Lane, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Ashland is the gateway to your Oregon adventure. Our hotel features a warm, elegant environment. Conveniently placed near all of Ashland's attractions including Southern Oregon University, you will be sure to make your stay a yearly tradition whether you are attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival events or skiing at Mt. Ashland. The Holiday Inn Express features complimentary Continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Ashland, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just 12 miles south of Medford, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ashland Hotel Ashland
Holiday Inn Ashland
Ashland Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ashland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.