We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, clean, helpful staff (not close to OSF)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ashland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ashland to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   565 Clover Lane, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Affordable, clean, helpful staff (not close to OSF)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Second stay there this summer for Shakespeare Festival with the family and enjoyed it. Continental breakfast was fine, room was clean and well maintained, managed was helpful with early check in. Location is off I-5 on the other side of town as OSF but reasonably close to Southern Oregon U. Summer rates are generally more reasonable than equivalent lodging that is walking distance to the downtown district.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashland, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for coming back. We're glad you had a nice stay and look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
40
38
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Holiday Inn Express is consistent- clean, comfortable and always convinient. They keep on making minor tweaks but nothig too dramatic. I noticed that the breakfast now has soy milk, better oatmeal selection, and eco-friendly disposables. This location was definitely up to standards and the staff were more friendly than others i have stayed at. One negative about Holiday Inn Express, including this property- The room furnishing and look/feel could use some contemporary updates.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashland, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for your response. We value your feedback and this information has been passed on. We look forward to a future stay with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed while driving back to WA from San Diego, and I was pleased. Our room was quiet and comfortable, and exactly what we needed after a 12-hour drive. The breakfast was nice the next morning, and saved us time and money. The room was larger than I expected, and the beds were very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashland, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and we're very pleased we could accommodate you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Place is clean but being a Platinum member means nothing. 3 stars is being kind, really should only get two. We were told no upgrade available when using points . Wow, why bother being a member. the place is not even booked up. No worries, just will stay either North or South of here and also cancelled our future reservation we had here in three weeks. Why being a member?

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashland, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear swlphoto,

Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards Platinum members. I am glad that you found the hotel to be clean.

We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies if the hotel was unable to honor your request.

Thank you for staying with us and we still hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Ashland.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My room was clean & just what I would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. It is next to the freeway, but I couldn't hear it from my room. There isn't a lot nearby as far as restaurants, other than the brewery at the end of the block...which luckily had good food & beer.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashland, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear SeattleCrazyhair,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review about our property. We’re very happy to know that you liked the cleanliness and serenity in your room.

Feedback from our valued guests are highly appreciated as we give the utmost importance to providing guest satisfaction in a secure and comfortable environment. If there is anything that we can do make your next stay with us more satisfying, please do not hesitate to ask the manager on duty. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Excellent stay at this hotel and we will be back again without hesitation!! The room was spacious, clean and quiet, all important factors and my wife really puts the emphasis on "clean". If it is not clean in her opinion, we ask for another room and have left hotels before if they didn't have another room available. The hotel staff was very professional and friendly! They make you feel welcomed. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked and the woman managing that area was friendly and constantly making sure everything was available which was wonderful. Too many hotels just put food out and don't clean up often during breakfast and when they run out of an item, you have to track someone down and let them know, but that is not the case here. Great location and a very comfortable room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashland, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for your stay and response. I'm so glad you were happy with your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If I had to give the Holiday Inn Express and Grade it would be a B-. It is located a few miles from downtown Ashland, and close to I-5. Convenient for some, not so great for others. The hotel staff was very good. Friendly, attentive and always asking if we needed anything. Our room was on the first floor directly across from the pool. We thought it might be annoying with noise, but the foot traffic was low and we hardly noticed. The room was extremely clean and the bed comfortable. The room had a microwave, fridge and coffeemaker. We would have preferred being closer into Ashland, but reserved through Hotwire.com, and they did not mention it was on the outskirts of town. The price was fine and we slept well on a comfortable King bed. There is a free breakfast that perfectly displayed, but if I were to give any advice it would be to lessen the salt in the scrambled eggs, and offer some fresh fruit or hot cereal. If you enjoy cinnamon rolls, pancakes, breads, biscuits and gravy and dry cereal...you will like it. The food area was very clean and seemingly well managed. All in all our stay was good. Wish we were closer to town, but that is not the fault of the hotel but us booking through hotwire.com.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and was very clean and smelled fresh. Could hear walking from above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashland, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for your response. I'm pleased we were able to accommodate you. Sorry about the noise, but next time please feel free to call ahead and request a room away from the highway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ashland

Address: 565 Clover Lane, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Ashland is the gateway to your Oregon adventure. Our hotel features a warm, elegant environment. Conveniently placed near all of Ashland's attractions including Southern Oregon University, you will be sure to make your stay a yearly tradition whether you are attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival events or skiing at Mt. Ashland. The Holiday Inn Express features complimentary Continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Ashland, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just 12 miles south of Medford, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ashland Hotel Ashland
Holiday Inn Ashland
Ashland Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ashland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.