We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coquina has wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coquina

Coquina
542 A St, Ashland, OR 97520-2019
541-488-0521
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 136 Restaurants in Ashland
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Coquina has wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Coquina is a semi-relaxed bistro with excellent food and wine. This is our 11th year visiting Ashland and 1st to Coquina. We will definitely return for more great food next year. Our appetizers were very good to taste and look at. Our entrees were crafted to perfection. The oso buco was rich and tender. The scallops were perfect. The wine list has something for every budget including my demand for locale, value, and excellence. Our drinks from the bar were well done. The service was slow, but we appreciated that they didn't plan to turn tables every 55 minutes. Great food takes time to prepare. If you want fast food, I believe there is a McDonalds somewhere in Ashland. Coquina was a wonderful experience for us.
Disclaimer: I am in no way associated with this business. I just love their food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    15
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A New Local Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have eaten at Coquina seven or eight times this summer. When we celebrate a friend's birthday it's usually where want to go, when we dine with friends, it is the place we suggest. And when we just want a great dinner and are not rushing off to theatre, it's usually the place we select. There are other perfectly fine dining choices in this town but Coquina is new and special and we want very much to support them. The owners are presenting a truly innovative menu. You will find precious few such inspired menu choices in town. The owner and his wife, the chef, seem truly committed, and we want them to succeed. This is a tough town in which to keep a restaurant going, and we've seen so many bite the dust over the years.
As for the speed of service, you just need to settle back, pretend you're in Europe and enjoy the experience. The one evening that our service was slow, the owner came over to apologize and treated us to more wine. When our entrees arrived they were worth every minute of the wait. I think that if you're going to do dinner and Shakespeare that same night, you would be better off choosing some place where you can get in and out in a hurry, then take a walk and digest your food before the play. One instance of slow service out of 8 visits to Coquina this summer seems like a pretty good track record to me.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“one of thhe best meals we had on the west coast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Fabulous food! Creatively prepared! Duck with hint of blackberries? Fantastic. Spouse advised the steak dish was wonderful as well. Believe that in the ambitious attempt to prepare and serve each meal separately, service timing of the courses suffers only evidenced by the time between courses. Please be patient! It is worth the wait! We have visited the west coast north and south and when the timing issues are resolved you won't be able to get reservations for months. Enjoy the food now!!!! Thank you to to all of the staff! They were amazing! Ambiance is also great. No feeling of being on top of other diners Thank you to all at Coquina.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Calamitous Coquina: great food but astoundingly unprofessional staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We've been coming to Ashland for nearly a decade and were excited to try Coquina, especially since a number of OSF actors rave about the food. The food we had was indeed excellent: the succulent tempura-battered squash blossoms as an appetizer were exquisite, no doubt. But take seriously the reviews that cite a "get lost" management attitude and poor service, and don't plan on making it to the theatre on time if you eat here. We made our reservation a month in advance. When we were arrived, were shown to an outdoor table despite 95°F heat, which we noted would be too much for my elderly mother-in-law. The attitude was very much a "take it or leave it" one, and no one bothered to come out and apologize. Our first course came out reasonably quickly after ordering, and we were hoping it would turn out to be an "all's well that ends well" evening. It was not to be. Although our plates were cleared quickly, over 50 minutes elapsed before the main courses were served, and then only because we went inside to see what had become of our waiter and our order. Not once during that time did our waiter ask if we needed anything to drink or update us on the status of our meals. When the main courses finally arrived, there was no apology (except from the busboy, who seems to be the only one with any customer orientation). Shortly thereafter, a plastic pipe from the deck above started pouring water on the window, splashing it on my mother-in-law. We moved around to one side of our table and asked for the check. The person who appeared to be the manager came out to investigate the cause of the water pouring down and offered no more than a half-apology, "it's never happened before." No accommodation was made and nothing offered for these multiple breaches of basic customer service etiquette. We paid, and for the first time ever in my life, left zero tip. While the food was really terrific, life is too short to give so unprofessional a restaurant a second chance. We won't be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, quiet setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This restaurant is off the beaten path in Ashland and the food and service were excellent. We were seated outdoors on the patio on a warm summer night and were treated to fabulous dinner and dessert. The food arrived in a timely manner and we were able to make it to the Shakespearean theater in plenty of time.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coquina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.