We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic flavors, beautifully prepared” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro

Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro
62 E. Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
541-488-7108
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 133 restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Portland Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic flavors, beautifully prepared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It is a unique experience, to eat in a Japanese restaurant alone. I think of sushi and all the other little plates as being so communal -- sharing bites, chopsticks criss-crossing one another for morsels off others' plates. So I really value the memory of my peaceful and beautiful -- and solo -- lunch at Taroko recently. I had an unexpected couple of hours to myself in downtown Ashland before meeting friends for a 1:30 Shakespeare performance. I stopped into Taroko, not knowing what I would find. I didn't have sushi (although every piece that came by looked wonderful), but decided to try one of the house specials (calamari salad) and then enjoy an old love of mine (baked mussels). The salad was so huge, the waitress and I both laughed when she brought it. SO much fresh green & julienned vegs (& all artfully arranged, of course!). The fried calamari was perfect -- and not just a few placed on top but many, many calamari rings tossed throughout the greens. Probably over 3 dozen. It was a real -- and enjoyable - treasure hunt to find them.
I did notice that both the calamaris and the baked mussels were not served piping hot. In my experience, everywhere else -- if you are not selecting them from a conveyer belt where they've been sitting -- they are served as hot as can be. But not here, and I do have to wonder why.
The service was very nice (on a weekday right after 12 noon, they weren't busy), and the atmosphere is nice. If you go out the back door you find yourself right in the plaza at the main OSF theaters - and this is very accommodating, no matter what the weather.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    45
    20
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice sushi & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After being taken by shuttle from our hotel to the theater, we had less than an hour to have dinner before King Lear began. Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro was just a few short blocks away. It was very busy, and we were afraid we would not make it back to the theater in time. However, the staff was so good about getting us our appetizer, entrees and check promptly, that we needn't have worried. The sushi was very fresh, a generous portion and good, the Mongolian beef was good and the calamari appetizer very tasty. I'd go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish in Ashland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The sushi was excellent--halibut was so fresh and flavorful.
The salt and pepper calamari was definitely one of the best dishes I have had in a long time.
The pad thai was lacking seasoning but the tofu was very fresh.
The Mongolian beef was great--definitely would recommend it.
When you first walk into this restaurant you do not realize how large it is. So even if you do not have a reservation, don't be afraid to stop by to see if there is room. They have a nice bar area as well as an upstairs area for dining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Not as good the second time around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Returned to Taroko -this time during tourist season. Unfortunately, there was a significant decline in the service. Took a while to even take our drink order let alone food order and then the kitchen was very slow.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great pan-Asian cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have eaten here several times, and the food is always good, and the staff I friendly and efficient.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.