We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro

Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro
62 E. Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
541-488-7108
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #24 of 126 restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our party of seven had dinner here two days ago and the food and service were both great. The Pho had wonderful favors and the Shaking Beef was really good. Food is served family style so we all got to try several dishes, the only disappointment was the calamari and Korean ribs were just slightly salty. The Volcano roll was excellent, just spicy enough. The staff makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk in and the service continues to be excellent throughout the meal. All of us locals wondered how we had missed this place for so long, we'll be back soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    40
    17
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food fast good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The decor is attractive with low lighting, the food is top-notch, the service is professional and friendly, the menu is varied with something for everyone including interesting selections like the sake sampler, plus it's conveniently located downtown. It's clear they really care about getitng it right here. Ample food and drink ran us $30 each and it was well worth it. You could make more cost-conscious choices to dine for less and still enjoy all this place has to offer. We will definitely return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

No outside dining so haven't been here for a while but winter is back so looking forward to visiting this very nice place with interesting dishes and everyman prices.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent beef pho and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The perfect place for a quick lunch of beef noodle soup. The waiter made sure we were all set to walk up the back stairs and end up in front of the Bowmer Theatre for show time. He also suggested that we share the big bowl of pho which made a good healthy serving for lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More than just a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I were "menu in the window" shopping around downtown looking for the best fit for our Friday night early dinner. He doesn't eat seafood and is not a fan of Italian, two of my favorites, so it usually takes us some time to come across something that works for both of us. As we were standing in the window reading the extensive menu, a woman come out to us and told us that we MUST come inside. She was visiting for 2 days, and upon eating here the day before, she was so impressed that she came back TWO more times. She suggested the calamari right off the bat, so I was sold.

The menu is a great fusion of cuisines. Japanese, Chinese, Thai, Mongolian and Korean. There are so many things to chose from, that I was having a hard time deciding. My husband is a meat eater, so he was happy with offerings of Mongolian Beef, Beef Pho, Green Curry and Korean BBQ. He decided on the Mongolian Beef. I didn't want to get the typical Pad Thai, so I asked the server for some help. She told me that if I love Pad Thai, to give theirs a try because they have a unique twist, and it is not laden with peanut sauce - so that is what I ordered. We also ordered the calamari as an app and their Volcano "sushi" roll - a cooked blend of various seafoods. I mentioned before that my husband doesn't eat seafood...

Calamari: BEST we have ever had. Husband LOVED it. It came on a bed of sauteed ginger, garlic, onions and peppers. The cracked pepper flavor, teamed with the perfect batter, texture and veggies were a complete hit.

Mongolian Beef: The plating was gorgeous. Plenty of food. He ordered it with extra spice (he likes things VERY hot). Meat was tender, the blend of flavors spot on. He was pleased.

Pad Thai: YUM. It is not your traditional dish - this had more of a broth to it, a sweet n sour broth that was a perfect compliment to the super thin noodles and veggies. Not at all dry or coated in peanut sauce like most restaurants do. It was perfectly different and very satisfying.

Volcano roll: not a traditional roll at all, but more of a fun twist on "sushi:. It came in a huge tower, tempera rolled (not rice rolled) and covered in a yummy mango sauce. Very, very filling. My non seafood eating husband ate half of it!

We had to force ourselves not to go back again the next day because we really wanted to eat each meal for the weekend at different restaurants. Truth be told, after eating at a few other establishments, the right choice would have been to go back - there are just so many things on the menu we wanted to try. We will go back the next time we head to Ashland.

Oh, and the drinks are put together really well. Creative and the right balance of alcohol and flavor.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Taroko Pan-Pacific Bistro to your Saves list