We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place, Superb food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfields Restaurant and Bar

Smithfields Restaurant and Bar
36 S 2nd St, Ashland, OR 97520
+1 541-488-9948
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Smithfields Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 136 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, English, Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main St
Description: Smithfields Restaurant and Bar located in Ashland, Oregon is a neighborhood steakhouse restaurant and bar which specializes in sustainable nose to tail dining (utilizing the whole animal) and in-house charcuterie.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Special place, Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Smithfield's is our go to spot to celebrate almost anything. Food is locally sourced and perfectly presented, focusing in meat. Meat for sure - walk into the dining area and you'll see a cow diagrammed, a pig statue or two and you'll be distracted by the beautiful plates and scents as you make your way to a table. Sit at the bar for a signature cocktail (with spicy popcorn) or at a window side dinner and enjoy. Try the brisket, which when cooked outside on the industry sized smoker, fills the town with a tantalizing grill, making you hungry, drawing your body and palate to 2nd Street, above the boulevard.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Noisy but GOOD!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This "meat centric" restaurant, not far from the theaters in Ashland, served us possibly the best meal we had during a week's visit to the town. The noise level, however, quickly reached painful, even though we arrived at 5PM. As the restaurant filled, so did our ear drums!

The beef tartare, seasoned with the restaurant's house-made Worcestershire sauce, was delicious, as was the ahi carpaccio. We ordered the starter bacon beignets and they did not arrive, neither did our wine, until we snared the waiter and reminded him.

The brisket, however, from the smoker out back, was perfection, juicy, not dry, nor tough. It was accompanied by bacon braised collard greens. We also enjoyed the roasted rainbow carrots and beets with balsamic honey glaze.

The wine list by the glass and/or bottle is made up of a fair number of Oregon choices, plus wines from New Zealand, France, Germany, Italy and Spain. Wine prices are reasonable. We shared the cheese board, with a respectable choice of cheeses.

Next year, when we go to the Shakespeare Festival we will definitely eat at Smithfields - but ask for an outside table, in hopes that it will be quieter.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average Food For Lots Of Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I've been going to Ashland, Oregon for the Shakespeare Festival for about 20 years, and I remember this restaurant as being called "Monet's," which had very good food. One of the friends I was traveling with was in the mood for steak, so we went to Smithfield's. We were seated outside, which was pleasant. The food, however, was mediocre at best. My steak was half cold, and the rest of the food was not much better. The total bill, which included one glass of wine for each of us, was really, really expensive, especially considering the quality of the food. Disappointing to say the least. If you want to spend money on good food in Ashland, I would recommend Lark's or Amuse.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Back to the future”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Remember when you would go out to a steakhouse without embarrassment and order a piece of meat cooked to perfection, with ideal seasoning. Before foo-foo dishes were all the rage. Smithfield's is an updated version of the steakhouse. Great steaks and chops, but also with some more inspired offerings (cheese souffle, duck). The food quality is at a level with the top New York and Chicago steakhouses, but at half of the price. The service was polite and prompt. Overall, a fun place to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service, please”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

D**n it. Seriously. Restaurant No. 2 in Ashland that I REALLY wanted to give four stars, but can't because of spotty service (Larks was the first.)

The staff here switch up duties, it seems, with servers mainly doing food, and another doing drinks. They would simultaneously disappear in the full restaurant, then pop up again as people were leaving. The end of service was unforgivable. 20 minutes to get our undercooked beignets, while we watched the line and wait staff wrap up for the night or wander off for smokes.

The food:

The food is mostly delightful. For app #1, we had the charcuterie board; the standouts were the duck prosciutto and seared pork belly. So rich and salty and delicious. We also had the steak tartare, which was frankly lacking in seasoning. Some sea salt helped it, and the quail egg on top was perfectly poached.

The mains! So GOOD! I had one of the best restaurant rib-eyes I've ever had, with horseradish mashed potatoes (grainy and dry...sad face) topped with truffle butter.

Little side-note to the chef: Please don't cut my ribeye for me. That'll get you shot in Texas.

The husband had the halibut with preserved lemon risotto and I have to agree with him, that was a fine, fine dish. Absolutely no complaints and he cleaned his plate.

Please, y'all. If you're a server or cook, finish as strong as you start. I've read a ton of reviews on this place, and there are hardly any server issues mentioned. I can only assume this laziness and inattention happens because you're getting ready to end your shift. We were all still half an hour out. Not fair. We're paying just as much as someone with a 6:00 pm reservation on a Friday night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithfields Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Smithfields Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfields Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.