We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnivores welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfields Restaurant and Bar

Smithfields Restaurant and Bar
36 S 2nd St, Ashland, OR 97520
+1 541-488-9948
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Smithfields Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 134 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, English, Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main St
Description: Smithfields Restaurant and Bar located in Ashland, Oregon is a neighborhood steakhouse restaurant and bar which specializes in sustainable nose to tail dining (utilizing the whole animal) and in-house charcuterie.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Carnivores welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Good dining experience for a Sunday lunch with fiancee and 10 y/o. The restaurant brags on its carnivore orientation with its menu, fun chalk board messages and "Bacon, the gateway meat" t-shirt.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    33
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Meat Centric Dining at Close Quarters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Smithfields is a good choice if you are looking for a meat centric meal in Ashland. The interior is decorated in a bistro style with drawings of a cow and a hog with the meat cuts highlights plus "clever' sayings about the joys of being a carnivore.

Frankly, our table for two was placed too close to our adjacent diners for my taste. We had zero privacy and neither did they. So I don't recommend Smithfields unless you have a larger party or you don't mind sharing your dining experience with complete strangers.

We started with the house-made selection of meats as an appetizer. This plate included duck prosciutto, liver pate, rabbit pate, salami and pickled vegetables. We found these to be agreeable but only the duck prosciutto struck a winning note. We decided to share a 14 ounce "porterhouse' of lamb which turned out to be two 7 ounce double cut steaks. We found the lamb to be delicious but the portion was actually small when you consider the size of the bones. We also were perplexed by the near-flavorless Béarnaise sauce. I actually questioned the server about whether I was given the wrong sauce because there was almost no sign of the traditional herbal flavor. A nice bottle of a local tempranillo red wine was a nice complement to the the meal.

Smithfields is within walking distance of the Shakespeare festival so be sure to make dinner reservations between 6pm and 7:30pm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The Food is Good, the Ambience Terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Upon entering Smithfields, the first thing you notice is that the entry floor is sticky. Then you are greeted by a hostess who has tattoos on her chest and arms. Your waiter is friendly, but he has earrings that splay the ear lobes. There are no tablecloths. The clientele is a mixture of well-dressed to poorly dressed, some men with long frizzy pony tails and beards. Another was wearing a ski beanie.
The food was delicious. We shared a salad of endive, butternut squash and dried cranberries. Our steaks were cooked just right and presented nicely. You have to order everything a la carte to make a complete meal. When we spend this much money on a nice meal, we like to have the ambience match the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you like meat...
All kinds of meat, then you are in for a treat.
Smithfield's serves rabbit, duck, pork, lamb, chicken, beef, veal,
everything.
It is a meat centered restaurant with fabulous food.
The prices are steep.
Dinner for four, with wine can run $200-$300.
However, you will walk away well satisfied.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good to meat you, oh yeh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant in downtown.
Friendly staff who know their menu and wine list well.
We had munchies (!) and ribeye followed by dessert and felt comfortable afterwards.
Would certainly not miss this out if we return to Ashland.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithfields Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Smithfields Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfields Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;