We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Food is Good, the Ambience Terrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfields Restaurant and Bar

Smithfields Restaurant and Bar
36 S 2nd St, Ashland, OR 97520
(541) 488-9948
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Smithfields Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 133 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, English, Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main St
Description: Smithfields Restaurant and Bar located in Ashland, Oregon is a neighborhood steakhouse restaurant and bar which specializes in sustainable nose to tail dining (utilizing the whole animal) and in-house charcuterie.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“The Food is Good, the Ambience Terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Upon entering Smithfields, the first thing you notice is that the entry floor is sticky. Then you are greeted by a hostess who has tattoos on her chest and arms. Your waiter is friendly, but he has earrings that splay the ear lobes. There are no tablecloths. The clientele is a mixture of well-dressed to poorly dressed, some men with long frizzy pony tails and beards. Another was wearing a ski beanie.
The food was delicious. We shared a salad of endive, butternut squash and dried cranberries. Our steaks were cooked just right and presented nicely. You have to order everything a la carte to make a complete meal. When we spend this much money on a nice meal, we like to have the ambience match the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    51
    33
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you like meat...
All kinds of meat, then you are in for a treat.
Smithfield's serves rabbit, duck, pork, lamb, chicken, beef, veal,
everything.
It is a meat centered restaurant with fabulous food.
The prices are steep.
Dinner for four, with wine can run $200-$300.
However, you will walk away well satisfied.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good to meat you, oh yeh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant in downtown.
Friendly staff who know their menu and wine list well.
We had munchies (!) and ribeye followed by dessert and felt comfortable afterwards.
Would certainly not miss this out if we return to Ashland.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice views of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

good food and great views. the weather was perfect to sit outside. the menu offered lots of different things and the drink menu was really interesting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“vegans stay home... but wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This relatively new restaurant in Ashland, OR adds yet again another great option to the already-competitive dining scene in this wonderful little theater town. It is a celebration of meat and fish--in the case of the former, locally sourced, free range, no antibiotics (etc.); in the case of the latter, fresh, responsibly caught, etc. We arrived early because we had a play (we made reservations), were promptly seated. The server was cheerful, helpful, and brisk without being rushed. My burger was enormous, and like no hamburger I've ever had (not just because of the size, either). My husband had fish and chips, and again, not your average fish-and-chips. A vegetarian would have options here (salads, etc.), but a vegan would struggle. Good pre-theater place, walkable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithfields Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Smithfields Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfields Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.