We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Loft Ashland

Loft Ashland
18 Guanajuato Way, Ashland, OR 97520
+1 541-482-1116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 122 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: French, American, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Loft Ashland, a brasserie and bar serving dinner Tuesday through Sunday and brunch every Sunday featuring French-inspired cuisine with a uniquely American accent. From Rogues to Rhones, our list is a well-balanced selection of fine wines from Oregon and beyond with an emphasis on our favorite, French of course! Enjoy dining in our grande brasserie year-round. During the warmer months, dine al fresco, sun or shade, on our idyllic terrace. We support local farmers, ranchers and foragers and are devoted to using organic, free range, chemical free and genetically unaltered products whenever possible. We invite you to join us at Carpe Noctem, our new rooftop bar and lounge featuring artisan cocktails, wine flights, and a little magic if you're lucky! Drop by for drinks in our second floor solarium bar or stop in after the show any night for a late night light bite around our rooftop fire pit lounge above Ashland Creek. We look forward to serving you soon!
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seriously?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

1- "Charcuterie" Plate was a bread and butter plate covered with wilted spring mix and some bland dog food looking pate. Really chef? It doesn't look good.
2- Medium rare duck was well done and sliced. That means that you actually got to see if it was cooked to the temp requested. The skin was soggy and the dish was not good.
3- I dont know how this restaurant has return business. I will never recommend this place nor visit Loft ever again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    52
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Elegant, Yet Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to brunch at the Loft on Easter Sunday.
It's a small but elegant restaurant with a knowledgeble but friendly staff.
There was such a variety of offerings. Eggs Bendict with crab,
Hazlenut French Toast, delicious omelettes, something for everyone. The brunch also came with fresh fruit and homemade pastries that melted in your mouth.
The next time we're in Ashland, we're going to the Loft for dinner!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cosy, Warm and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The December chill outside the Loft restaurant in Ashland Oregon was melted away by the warmth of our greeting. Coats shed, table chosen (we were offered a place near the fire or a bit away) and menus delivered, we perused the extensive, well-curated wine list and chose two local glasses. Our entrees were delivered at just the right time. They were delicious, with just the right amount of creativity, yet with neither pretension nor perversity.
We came back a few weeks into January and repeated our positive first experience. Now that the weather has turned, the outdoor serving area beckons. Just go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had reservations to celebrate a birthday, as we told the host. We were seated by the bathroom. When we asked for a different table, we were rudely told all were reserved, but during our dinner no one filled them. When we protested, the owner told us that we were at the best table in the restaurant (are you KIDDING?). Then, as we were eating, she spent 20 minutes telling us of her aspiration to own a first-class restaurant. We admit that other people have enjoyed the place. We will never return, after our terrible experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Public Relations Manager at Loft Ashland, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you very much for the valuable feedback. It sparked a great solution! From now on, we will only use the bathrooms down the hall. In fact, we're even putting up a blind to block the door and make that lovely little corner more cozy for couples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner at the Loft”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went to the Loft for the first time. Service was excellent and the atmosphere was very nice. Could not eat outside due to the weather but hope to return when it is warmer. Food was very well prepared including a delicious risotto.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loft Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loft Ashland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.