We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice locals burger spot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louie's Bar & Grill

Louie's Bar & Grill
41 N Main St, Ashland, OR 97520
(541) 482-9701
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 135 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Medford, Oregon, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice locals burger spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Good "recession burger" for a good price, grass-fed beef for 50¢ extra. Good garlic fries. Friendly help, sometimes slow. Nice outdoor seating next to creek.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    53
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fast, Friendly, Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Visited Ashland on the trip up to Oregon to drop my son at college. We managed to get tickets to a show at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and were poking around the nearby plaza for a place to eat before the show. The young woman standing outside Louie's suggested we come in because "we are really friendly and reasonably priced" so we decided to give it a go.

Well, not only was EVERYONE we encountered super friendly, but the service was blazingly fast. So much so that we had time for dessert (the lava cake which my son really enjoyed) and still had time for a leisurely stroll through the park before our show. The burgers were done exactly to our liking (we had a couple of special requests) an arrived piping hot, clearly fresh off the grill.

Giving only 4, rather than 5 stars only because we ate outdoors "creek side" and the tables were a bit crammed together. But that was really a slight issue in an otherwise lovely meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Burger Joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My wife had the BBQ burger and it was great. I had the gorgonzola burger. It was a good basic burger but I couldn't taste the gorgonzola. Decent prices.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rip-off, dishonest, cold food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Food was cold. My party of four was changed 18% gratuity. When I checked the menu in the window at the sidewalk, it said gratuity charged for more than 6 people. I complained, and was offered a discount coupon. (I live over 400 miles away.) I said, "Not acceptable." Woman who seemed in charge told me that it was not possible to adjust the credit card billing. I informed her that this was no longer the dark ages, and asked for the manager. She responded that I would have to wait a long time since the manager was busy. I waited. The manager said that it would be difficult to process the credit card refund, so I suggested cash. They finally gave the refund, and said that the problem was that we entered at the same time as a party of six, and our server got confused. Not true. We had out food (cold burgers) in front of us before the larger party entered, and they also had a different server. Shame on them for their dishonesty, and for claiming to be famous but serving cold burgers. Crappy place with bad food and dishonest employees --- including at least some members of management.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Food was good, but nothing to rave about. The service was excellent and the creek side location was perfect! A very nice choice for a meal before the theater. The servings are a reasonable size, filling, but no leftovers to leave or haul around!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Louie's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louie's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.