We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agave Taco

Agave Taco
92 N Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-2782
+1 541-488-1770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 120 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

AGAVE Ashland Oregon. Foodies take note.
We found this place through Tripadvisor what a find!
If you find yourself hungry in Ashland or even near there try Agave. It is a totally unpretentious restaurant serving great tapas style Mexican food with real flavour. The owner Jacob and his staff are very welcoming. The piece d’ resistance if you are lucky enough to try it is their Coconut ice cream. Very affordable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    66
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Best FRESH Mex in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Agave is a wonderful little Mexican restaurant just off the plaza in Ashland. It's conveniently located near the plaza and an easy walk to all the Ashland sites, including Lithia Park and the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The food is outstanding! Everything I have had there is very flavorful and fresh. I'm partial to the pollo asado tacos! The margaritas are made with fresh squeezed key lime juice, NOT some sweet syrup. Everything is made in-house, including the tortillas and chips, and the delicious coconut ice cream! Service is outstanding...which is perfect if you're in a hurry for a play. The outside seating is great when the weather is nice. Great place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Amazing tacos and tamales! Best service in town, too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am shocked that I didn't try this place earlier! The tacos are incredible, as are the margaritas, guacamole and tamales. My dining partner and I tried the carnitas, pollo, fish and carne asada tacos. It's very tough for me to choose just one favorite since they were all great, but I'd have to pick the fish. It was cooked perfectly and was light and wonderful.

Definitely worth a visit. Come in and get a few tacos in 15 minutes or less, or start with an appetizer (the presentation of the guacamole alone is worth it) and stay for a bit. Great ambiance. Service was fast and very friendly. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
225 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“all around excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

GO!!! eat at this little restaurant. the food is delicious and very reasonably priced for the high quality. we had various tamales and each of us paid less than $5.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best margaritas around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very small place but sidewalk seating right near Ashland Plaza. Their selections are fresh and just the right size. And a better margarita can be found nowhere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agave Taco also viewed

 
 

Been to Agave Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agave Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.