We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Venue for a production” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Cabaret Theatre

Oregon Cabaret Theatre
PO Box 1149, First & Hargadine, Ashland, OR 97520
(541) 488-2902
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 Activities in Ashland
Type: Theaters, Theater & Concerts
Attraction details
Felton, California
Top Contributor
465 reviews 465 reviews
228 attraction reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Nice Venue for a production”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We saw a production of S'Wonderful. We had the dinner and it was OK. Upstairs seating was also OK. Service was very good. Sadly, the production wasn't so good. Piano was way too loud and drowned out the singers. I think the singers would have been better with a better sound system.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    27
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bandon, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“'s Wonderful - Indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Excellent Dinner Theater and entertainment - thoroughly enjoyed - Servers were attentive and helpful, food was delicious, show was Fabulous !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Cabaret in Ashland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Fun filled evening of great entertainment Make sure you order the Dick Hay pie which is served during intermission.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Could be Fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

High marks for the overall vibe, the historic playhouse building, & the great seating (I've never sat in a bad seat; I like being up in the balcony). My knock on the Cabaret Theatre is that the plays are always VERY light musicals. Very often you're not really watching a play, but more of a musical revue. This might be OK as a one-time thing for tourists, but as a resident it's not the kind of show you're going to want to see very often, unless you enjoy extremely light and silly entertainment.

The shows will be musicals, of course (it's a Cabaret). However, in my opinion, mixing in some drama and more serious plays/subject matter would go a long way in getting more locals to visit this theatre.

It's been well over 5 years since I've been (there is no option beyond 1 year ago for "when did you visit?" below), when my dad was in town visiting and we went to a show. I always look at the lineup of the coming season's shows, and I'm almost always disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“FUN TIMES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Don't miss out on an evening or Sunday brunch at this theater. Up beat musical entertainment, a really fun time. We often go for the dessert and play option, dessert being served during intermission.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Cabaret Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Cabaret Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Cabaret Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.