We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sesame Asian Kitchen

Sesame Asian Kitchen
21 Windburn Way, Ashland, OR 97520-2735
541-482-0119
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 130 restaurants in Ashland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Description: Sesame’s menu is inspired by the various cultures of the Far East, representing a fusion of cuisines from the South China Seas. We incorporate fresh Asian vegetables, free-range meats and house-blended spices with other specialty ingredients to create seasonal menus. Local partnerships allow us to feature the best ingredients and we offer beer, wine, sake and specialty cocktails to complete the experience.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visit this restaurant annually during our attendance at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and had mourned what we perceived as a downward trend in food quality. However, we treasure the setting on Lithia park, the interior decor and ambiance, the service, and affordable fresh food. So, we were happily surprised on our recent visit to enjoy two exceptional dishes: the Bangkok Pork and the Thai Hot and Sour soup with duck. Both were spicy, complex, flavorful, and completely satisfying. We hope this is a return to more delicious food that matches the rest of this lovely restaurant's qualities.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISA B, Owner at Sesame Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We always strive for consistency, so it's great to hear we kept up that high quality on your recent visit. Making sure our guests have a fantastic time with us is our number one priority, and I can't wait to share your thoughts with the rest of the team.

Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. We're looking forward to welcoming you back next year!

Many thanks,
Lisa, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    63
    43
    9
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a very tasty pre-theater meal here. The food was very tasty and the wait staff was attentive and helpful. We will surely return again next year. The menu is somewhat limited, but everything we had was delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISA B, Owner at Sesame Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for the words of encouragement! Great food and service is what we aim for, so it's wonderful to hear this feedback. We love being a pre-show dinner destination and can't wait to welcome you back for the next one. See you then!

Sincerely,
Lisa, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Pho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Sesame has a wonderful location. Had a very filling, satisfying and delicious Pho with chicken. Didn't need to eat again for the rest of the day!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISA B, Owner at Sesame Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Compliments like these just make my day, thank you for sharing! We're proud of our pho, and it's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed it. Next time you need your pho fix, we'll have a bowl ready for you.

All the best,
Lisa, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Nice Ashland Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner experience at the Sesame Asian Kitchen. The Coconut Calamari was very good. Nice outdoor seating across from Lithia Park. Good people watching but also lots of cars going by. Service was good although we had to wait way too long for our wine. Will return when in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISA B, Owner at Sesame Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We appreciate the encouragement, Simon! The Coconut Calamari is one of our more popular dishes — happy to hear you're a big fan too. If you want to eat by the park, let us know next time! During the summer months we offer a picnic service.

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We can't wait to feed you again!

Sincerely,
Lisa, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

It took 20 minutes to get two glasses of wine and the service went down from there. The food was good though - tasty coconut calamari, the Phuket shrimp were perfectly cooked. But we'll probably go elsewhere next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISA B, Owner at Sesame Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
While it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the coconut calamari and the Phuket shrimp, I'm disappointed that we didn't live up to your expectations with our service. We never want to keep our customers waiting for too long, and I'm sorry for wait time with your wine. That said, this isn't typical of the service we usually offer our customers, and I'd love to invite you back in for another meal with us. I know we can show you a much better time.

Sincerely,
Lisa, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sesame Asian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Sesame Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sesame Asian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.