We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in nice setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sesame Asian Kitchen

Sesame Asian Kitchen
21 Windburn Way, Ashland, OR 97520-2735
541-482-0119
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 121 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sesame’s menu is inspired by the various cultures of the Far East, representing a fusion of cuisines from the South China Seas. We incorporate fresh Asian vegetables, free-range meats and house-blended spices with other specialty ingredients to create seasonal menus. Local partnerships allow us to feature the best ingredients and we offer beer, wine, sake and specialty cocktails to complete the experience.
San Juan Islands, Washington
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good food in nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We drive from NW WA to CA several times a year, and stop in Ashland on the way. Best guess is we have eaten here at least a dozen times over the past five years. Always: very good selection of tasty, well-prepared asian food, well served, generally outdoors on the sidewalk, by friendly staff. Like most transient locations, waitstaff is always new, but always good. This is a very good bet in a town with lots of low-key and non-flashy but good places for a meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    58
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canyon City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Two friends and I shared meals here and enjoyed everything we sampled. They couldn't figure how to pour a "neat" drink, but otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Xlnt Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Sesame Asian Kitchen is an excellent choice in Ashland. It may not be "authentic" Asian cuisine but the food is very fresh and flavorful and beautifully presented. Large portions. Pleasant surroundings and great service. Great location on the Plaza and across from Lithia Park. While there are lots of good restaurant choices in Ashland (and some not so good), you cannot go wrong with Sesame. The Vietnamese Fish and Chips was terrific and the Dan Dan (shaved pork and noodles...spicy) was fresh and tasty. Topped off with a Sapporo on tap and it was a fine dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great change of pace!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good range of Asian flair. Everything is made fresh. Staff friendly. Hidden off of main roadway, so need to hunt for it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mmm...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you like high quality food, check this place out. The service is friendly and the food is amazing. I had spicy Sichuan noodles and LOVED them.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sesame Asian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Sesame Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sesame Asian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.