We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice off Main Street in Ashland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sesame Asian Kitchen

Sesame Asian Kitchen
21 Windburn Way, Ashland, OR 97520-2735
541-482-0119
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 135 Restaurants in Ashland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Description: Sesame’s menu is inspired by the various cultures of the Far East, representing a fusion of cuisines from the South China Seas. We incorporate fresh Asian vegetables, free-range meats and house-blended spices with other specialty ingredients to create seasonal menus. Local partnerships allow us to feature the best ingredients and we offer beer, wine, sake and specialty cocktails to complete the experience.
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“An excellent choice off Main Street in Ashland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We travel from the SF Bay Area to Ashland a couple times each year to visit friends, so we've eaten in many of the restaurants downtown - don't know how we missed this one, but it's now our favorite. A wonderful variety of Asian dishes, seasoned perfectly, presented beautifully by friendly staff - and the option of sitting outdoors near a small river. And it's just steps from the theaters. Can't ask for anything more!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    50
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sesame Asian Kitchen - Another reason to visit Ashland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Put this restaurant at the top of the list for places to eat in Ashland. The Asian Fusion menu has something for everyone and imaginative drinks for pre-meal enjoyment. We tried appetizers, a noodle dish, and a curry and were delighted with each dish. The decor is attractive; the service is responsive and informed; the prices are very reasonable. Being situated within easy walking distance to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival theatres is another bonus.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Amazing Sesame Kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Sesame Kitchen is my favorite place to eat in ashland. The food is a Asian Fusion and they always have something now and interesting on the menu when you get there. With funky paintings, cool paper lanterns, kind waiters, and wonderful food, what more could you ask for!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madras, OR
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“good menu w/gluten-free options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The menu is broad-based with several gluten-free options. Service was good, food and ambience nice. We had expectations of spicier Asian dishes. I/we were a disappointed in the blandness of the starred "spicy" dishes we ordered. They were not spicy at all and we needed what the server called "the hottest sauce", which we could eat off the spoon without much heat.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We love this place. We never really want lunch anywhere else. The food is Asian with a strong Thai influence. Also, the best location in Ashland, adjacent to Lithia Park and the OSF theaters.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sesame Asian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Sesame Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sesame Asian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.