We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Callahan's Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Callahan's Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Callahan's Mountain Lodge
7100 Old Highway 99 South, Exit 6 on I5, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Ranked #21 of 37 Ashland B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mountain Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Beautiful grounds in the summer....Food is good too. Really a lovely place for a wedding in the summer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    19
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yreka, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Love the remodel job! True to the original, but better. Rooms were awesome, love the 2nd floor balcony, and the welcome for the dogs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Had a night's stay as a wedding present. Wonderful place. Even though it's close to Interstate 5, you would never know, because it's nestled in among trees, and the ambiance makes you forget about any cars.

Big spacious room, with a nice deck overlooking the Siskiyou mountains. Large jacuzzi tub, big comfortable bed, the room even had a DVD player.

The restaurant served some good dishes, including some unique desserts and northwest-inspired breakfasts.

Staff was very friendly and helped us with any needs.

Besides some live music, there's not too many activities at the lodge, but if you're there for a romantic getaway, it won't matter. Just sit on the deck with a bottle of wine and enjoy the view over southern Oregon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Last week I arrived at Callahan's in the midst of a section hike on the Pacific Crest Trail. While I just had dinner and hiked on, I reviewed the items available to thru-hikers and it is wonderful. This would be a great place to zero day and resupply!

The meal was fabulous, the selection of entrees superb, and the ambience wonderful. Ron and Donna were quite friendly and helpful. When Ron learned I was a hiker, he was quite excited to show me a DVD a thru-hiker had made of a 2011 thru-hike. I watched some of it, and it is really quite good. Be sure to ask Ron to see the DVD when you pass through.

I've also stayed here when visiting Ashland for the Shakespeare Festival. Easy to get to Ashland, great accomodations, and both the dinner and breakfast I had with my family was top-notch.

All in all, this is a great place to stay, whether you're solo, couple, or family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

It is time I share my favorite place of them all to stay. Been here 7or 8 times now and each time renews my appreciation of the special nature of this unique lodge with only 19 rooms. This visit topped them all as the owner's (Ron and Donna) went out of their way to lend my forgetful husband a set of cufflinks and studs for his formal shirt for his 50th H.S. reunion. We hosted a very successful luncheon at Callahan's for the reunion as well which everyone enjoyed. This newly built rustic lodge has solved every aspect of a favorite destination... the rooms are superb with king beds, jaccuzzi tubs, real fireplaces and porches with forest views.... the food is delicious and varied.... Wally's bar is cozy and well stocked.... the town of Ashland is close by for shopping and theater.... and the evening entertainment is a highlight while either Ken or John perform easy listening Americana we all know and love. These two musicians love what they do and it shows. Speaking of loving what they do, the Ron and Donna and their staff make sure each guest has a perfect stay with their personal dedication to this goal which we have experienced each time. My husband and I are already planning our 10th anniversary stay at Callahan's...and we are happy to have found such a gem to become 'regulars' at. Ask for the 'bed and breakfast special" to save a bit and enjoy the food as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful...but you can occasionally hear a truck from distant highway 5 at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 22nd anniversary here. We found the room very comfortable. Enjoyed the plush robes, the jacuzzi tub and the bath salts that are provided. It was quiet and restful. I was surprised when I looked up and realized that I could see I-5 from our room. There is a water feature just out side the rooms creating soothing sounds of water.
Overall the food was very disappointing. I felt the restaurant staff dismissed us because we had complimentry breakfast vouchers that we part of the price of the room. (Maybe they thought we would not tip.) I enjoyed my breakfast, but my husband's potatoe pancake was cold inside. We had reservations for dinner. My beef stroganoff was full of gristle. His was burgundy beef and lacked flavor. We also had reservations for the Mother's Day Brunch Buffet. We were seated in the middle of the room while window seating remained empty. We were never asked if we would like patio seating. We were ignored. We could not even get our water glasses refilled and other requests went unanswered. The food was not memorable except that we both agreed it was not worth driving up here just for the food.
We are looking forward to our next stay, but will drive down to Ashland to eat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

a friend who owns a bookstore over the hill went there and spent the night. She said that the food was absolutely to die for, best she's ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Callahan's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callahan's Mountain Lodge

Address: 7100 Old Highway 99 South, Exit 6 on I5, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callahan's Siskiyou Lodge is Southern Oregon's premiere mountain getaway; featuring 19 spacious rooms, a full-service restaurant and bar, and a beautiful patio overlooking the grounds. Our well- appointed rooms contain Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and pillow-top mattresses. Come and enjoy breakfast, lunch, or dinner in our restaurant, and make sure to try some local wines, beers, or spirits in our lounge. Callahans: The perfect place to spend precious time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Callahan's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Callahan's Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.