We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Springs Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Green Springs Inn to your Saves list
Green Springs Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11470 Highway 66, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Gardnerville, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This out-of-the-way place is definitely worth the 16 mile drive up the mountain. It's like home - but in the mountains. We got a lodge room with a whirlpool tub... in a separate screened in wood porch.....incredible! The restaurant boasts of local (4 miles away) grass-fed, organic beef. My husband's T-Bone steak was cooked to perfection and he cut it with a fork!!!! The homemade bun/hamburger was one of the best I've had. Super friendly staff!!!! Make sure you eat there. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: If you truly want to get away from it all - no TV, internet or phone service. However, there is a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a welcome surprise to find this beautiful place! We called up the day of and asked if there were any rooms available, the receptionist said, "yes, you can reserve one of our cabins tonight for $170.00." Therefore, we booked the room and headed to the locale. When we got there, we were blown away at how large the cabins are! It was basically at least 1,000 sq ft house (approx) in a beautiful setting in the forest (I think about 30 min outside of Ashland's city center but not sure). We had one of the smaller cabins to boot! The bedroom was so pretty and comforting with the breeze flowing through the delicate white curtains on the windows. They thought of mostly everything to make us comfortable--coffee, lots of creamer in the fridge, wifi, a very luxurious slate bathroom/shower, a gas grill on the large deck with an outdoor table/chairs, an indoor/outdoor jacuzzi, firewood for the fireplace, etc. The greenery and privacy outside every window provided peace and calm. FYI that there is no air conditioner or T.V., at least in the cabin we stayed in and it was 96 degrees on the day we arrived (perhaps bring a fan). There were also quite a few bugs that made their way inside at night (moths, and big black aunts mostly), but we are in the forest after all so I'm not complaining. They also have a small hotel closer to the street where you can rent just one single room, and a very good restaurant with local food and beers on tap. I would like to highly recommend this place to travelers if you get the chance to go. It's an Inn well cared for and I'm sure most travelers will feel pampered and relaxed here.

Room Tip: Choose either a hotel room near the restaurant, near other people and chickens and roosters, or ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

No. Cell. Service.

No. TV.

Had wireless, but we didn't ask for the password.

Yippee!

Not only did we love being untethered, but the room was wonderful. Clean, contemporary, comfortable. Memory foam, king-sized mattress.

We stayed in Lodge #2, which has a very private Jacuzzi tub on an enclosed deck outdoors.

It was rustic, but not funky. Loved the chickens running around. And you can buy chicken food at the coop and feed them for a quarter. They're a riot.

Lodge food was very good, especially breakfast.

Dinner service was unbelievably slow, but they were unexpectedly slammed on the Thursday night we stayed. Didn't matter, though. Nice to be forced to slow down every now and then.

No, it's not in Ashland. If you want to be in tourist central for your vacation, stay near downtown. Greensprings is a curvy, wind-y world away.

Weather was cool and wonderful; people were nice.

We'll be back for the hiking -- and probably stay in one of the cabins. Can hardly wait!

Room Tip: Room #3 has a really nice screened-in deck and outdoor Jacuzzi. Could hear the people upstairs walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We were due to stay at the Green Springs Inn and had paid our non-refundable room rate of $110 via Hotels.com
I first started to become suspicious that we had made a big mistake when our Satnav (GPS) showed us taking an extra 30 mins to get to the hotel AFTER we had reached Ashland. By the time we had ascended the steep and windy (and treacherous) Route 66 all the way up to the Green Springs Inn, our nerves were on edge and we decided there was no way that we were going to chance that in the dark after our evening of Oregon Cabaret Theatre, particularly after a drink or two. So we simply popped into reception at the Green Springs to say we would not be staying there after all, and would reluctantly therefore forfeit our prepayment. When the following day, I had another look at the fine print in Trip Advisor about the Green Springs Inn, I did see that they say the hotel is 25 miles outside Ashland, so I guess I've been snookered. That said, my partner and I both feel cheated and extremely disappointed, because the address of the hotel is shown as being IN Ashland. It is in fact less IN Ashland than Medford is. In fact, I reckon it is much quicker (and safer) to drive from Medford to Ashland than from the Green Springs Inn to Ashland, despite the fact that the Green Springs Inn shows (misleadingly) an Ashland address.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diarmuid M, Owner at Green Springs Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
If you are considering a stay at Green Springs Inn, please read this Australian gentleman's review carefully. Oliver L is absolutely correct: we are not in Ashland. The Post Office assigned our mountain neighborhood to the Ashland ZIP code so we have an Ashland address. We can't change that, nor can we change our location: 17.5 miles east of downtown Ashland, much closer to the Pacific Crest Trail than to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. So what is the takeaway from Oliver's disappointing experience? If he had booked directly with us instead of Hotels.com, we would have immediately canceled his reservation with no fee or obligation. We do not want any guest to be unhappy and we understand that our address can be misleading. Of course, if Oliver had reserved his room on our web site, most likely he would have noticed this information at the top of our home page: "We are 17.5 miles east of Ashland."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

While on a road trip to Vancouver BC I decided to stay at Green Springs because it promised to be "in the mountains" just 20 miles from Ashland. The prices were very reasonable compared to Ashland and the reviews were good. Short review: Go there! It is more than worth the short and beautiful 20 mile drive.
The location is lovely, log cabin type lodge nestled in a forrest. The lodge has a restaurant with an outdoor dinning deck and they make all the food, including bakery on site. If you are a foodie, go! The sourdough pancakes alone are worth the drive.
They have rooms in the lodge and I think 9 cabins. We staying in one of the rooms and it was just charming. Spotless, great bed and a hot-tub Jacuzzi. No TV in room but when we noticed the large selection of videos in the lodge and asked about viewing one (free) they brought a TV and VCR to our room.
Which brings me to the other outstanding characteristic of this facility - customer service. It is a family owned facility and pride of ownership is apparent from everyone: from food service to food quality to general maintenance.

Room Tip: We had room 4 at the end of the lodge on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Staying here is the meaning of the word vacation! Wonderful hiking in the area was fun.,the cabin was very well equipped with everything needed to cook. We heard the restaurant was great, but as we wanted rest, we ate in our cabin.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jenny Creek, loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

First of all, everything was really good: Food, grounds and rooms. We stayed in the Lodge with a room with a hot tub. we ate dinner and breakfast - both really good and HEARTY in size. The owners are very friendly & helpful as are the staff. Next time - 2-nights to explore the area.

Room Tip: There are lodge and cabins. I'd say get a cabin for more than one night. It's very quiet si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Springs Inn

Address: 11470 Highway 66, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#8 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Springs Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Springs Inn offers destination lodging and dining in the Cascade-Siskiyou National Monument 25 minutes east of Ashland, Oregon. Our deluxe cabins, shaded by tall firs, are spaced along the brow of a deep valley. The Pacific Crest Trail winds along the top of the a ridge line to the west. An eight-room lodge near the restaurant provide lower cost accommodations with attractive amenities, including Jacuzzi tubs in most of the units. (The spectacular views are a short walk away.) Our restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed, neighborly setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Green Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Springs Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Springs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.