We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A break from the heat and smoke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Standing Stone Brewing Company

Standing Stone Brewing Company
101 Oak St., Ashland, OR 97520
541-482-2448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 134 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Haworth, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A break from the heat and smoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you like good beer and good food and you are in (or near) Ashland, OR you must stop here. Last summer we stopped in to get a break from the smoke of the wildfires, and were pleasantly surprised by the great onion rings and beer flight!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    129
    54
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX, USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a large group (15) and the service was excellent. The food was very good - not great - but certainly worth a return visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips and Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

As regular visitors to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival Standing Stone has become our go to place. The beer is excellent and the fish and chips are to die for. The service was good but can be a little iffy at times.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Fun evening at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

At the recommendation of our B&B, we dropped in for appetizers and a drink. The menu is interesting and the atmosphere warm and inviting. We sat at the bar and ordered one appetizer, enjoyed it so much that we ordered a second, and enjoyed that so much that we ordered a salad entree. Drank excellent margaritas (yes, it’s a brewery, but we love tequila), enjoyed excellent service, and had an excellent evening. Excellent, excellent, excellent. If we lived in the area, no doubt we’d be regulars.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Cooked Burgers are Best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I chose Standing Stone Brewery for my birthday lunch with friends recently. All the food was great except for the burger one of my friends ordered. It was cooked on the outside but 100% raw on the inside. She sent it back, and when it returned to her it was even further cooked on the outside but just as raw on the inside. Our play was about to start, so we couldn't wait for a whole new order. The restaurant provided her with a free cup of soup and did not charge for the burger, but we were so disappointed. I hope ours was a very rare occurance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Standing Stone Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Standing Stone Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Standing Stone Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.