We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know why I like this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Standing Stone Brewing Company

Standing Stone Brewing Company
101 Oak St., Ashland, OR 97520
541-482-2448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 130 restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't know why I like this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

When I have visitors this is where I take them. When I think of Ashland, I think of Standing Stone. Maybe its the bikes outside, maybe it's the location.....They're actually hit and miss for me. I am not always satisfied when I come here but for some reason, maybe it's the atmosphere, I just keep coming back. Their food is good but I don't like that I have to pay extra for fries. Their fish tacos are excellent but their lamb isn't. The beer is good but not as good as Calderas. I like their outside seating and I enjoy the events they put on. LOL Like I said, I don't know why but I just like Standing Stone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    119
    124
    50
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Yuppie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stopped here for a beer on Saturday, February 9, 2013. We'd been here before on our way to California two summers ago and at that time we were seated outside which was very nice. But since it was the month of February and cold, we were seated inside the restaurant and the atmosphere was just ok. The beer choices were small - around 7 choices overall. My husband chose the I Love Oregon Ale - which he stated was fruity, some hoppy taste and gave the grade of "B". Altho we didn't eat here, there were many food choices. Ashland has 2 Brewpubs: Standing Stone and Caldera Brewery and Restaurant right down the street. After we left Standing Stone, we visited Caldera which completely dominated Standing Stone on beer choices, ambiance, warmth and cozyness. I guess if you like higher beer prices and that Yuppie feel, you'll like this place. For us, we'd prefer paying less and feeling more comfortable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, electic food selections & home brewed beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you like brew pubs, you will like this restaurant which is comfortable, airy, lots of room and welcoming to children. The restaurant offers a wide selection of choices and the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. Service was good and fast, especially considering the number of patrons. This is obviously a popular spot and fits in well with the college atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Have to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had dinner and drinks here, it was delicious. I even had to take the extra home and eat it the next day, still good. Plan to go there again in the spring.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OK place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

OK food. We were told we would get 6 oz of Salmon but it was more like 4 oz and overcooked. The beer was ok, but not outstanding. The wait staff was very nice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Standing Stone Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Standing Stone Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.