We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little drizzle; but still a great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Shakespeare Festival

Oregon Shakespeare Festival
15 South Pioneer St, Ashland, OR 97520
800-219-8161
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tony Award-winning Oregon Shakespeare Festival (OSF) is one of the nation's true artistic gems. Home to the largest resident acting company in America in charming downtown Ashland, OSF annually presents 11 plays on three unique stages in rotating repertory from February through October. With tours and fun educational events and an ever-changing summer entertainment on the Green Show stage, OSF is an immersive cultural experience for the whole family that you'll never forget.
Battle Ground, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“a little drizzle; but still a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were in Ashland on a non-Shakespeare night, and saw "Into the Woods" I had trepidations after reading the synopsis, but the production was excellent! The theatre was the best of its kind I have ever seen, and even the drizzle could not dampen the experience. The actors, costumes, pacing of the play, and every aspect of the production was first rate. I can't wait to see a Shakespeare production next time we visit!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    94
    28
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
poway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another Great Event, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The plays we saw were quite diverse. I must say that seeing Shakespeare set in Harlem was unusual, and not very entertaining.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous after all these years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I had not been here for probably 30 years but had find remembrance of outdoor theater on warm summer nights. This IS Broadway caliber performances and Shakespeare plays are only part of what is available.
I saw four plays in three days. Richard III was brilliantly performed so the audience sympathized with this dastardly villain and sat through his treachery despite bitter cold (QUITE unusual for Southern OR but the audience was bundled in blankets and still cold!). The Great Society in previews follows an earlier play called All the Way about LBJ and shows how his plans were overshadowed by VietNam's relentless requirements for more money. Into the Woods was peerless lay performed and sung with an interesting transition as the audience catches the performers on stage and watches them get into costume and character. And Two Gentlemen of Verona was done with an all-female cast as counterbalance to the all-male casts of Shakespeare's time.
Before the performances are lectures (free) by scholars for about a half hour. These are both interesting and eye opening. And then in the plaza in from of the theaters is. green show of about an hour that varies each night. Many locals come just for this each night.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful productions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Went to see the productions of a Comedy of Errors and Tempest put on by the festival this year. Both were excellent. My teenage children enjoyed them as much as the adults in the audience. The free performances on the Green Stage were a lovely experience prior to going to the shows in the theaters. We saw a Morris dancing group prior to the Tempest which really set a Shakespearean feel to the evening prior to the main show.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, OR
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous theater experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Living in Oregon, we have attended plays at the OSF in Ashland on many occasions over the years, and enjoyed them so much, we even had season tickets at one time. All (3) theaters have their own special charms, but the outdoor Elizabethan Theater is really a fabulous venue for the Shakespearian plays in the summer. The Angus Bowmer Theater is our favorite for cooler times of the year...not a bad seat in the house, I think. The Thomas (New) Theater is a smaller theater-in-the-round, also nice for appropriate productions. Every season, OSF puts on 3-4 Shakespeare plays, and several 'other' plays as well, from classics to new productions. The acting is always top-notch. Also, in the summer, you can enjoy various pre-performance shows on the green (in the courtyard), called 'The Green Show'. These are short performances featuring music, dancing, storytelling, acrobatics, etc. to enjoy while you wait for the theaters to open up. Paired with a nice dinner out before the evening performances (or after lunch for the matinee), this makes for a most enjoyable outing!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Shakespeare Festival also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Shakespeare Festival, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.