We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience at OSF!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Shakespeare Festival

Oregon Shakespeare Festival
15 South Pioneer St, Ashland, OR 97520
800-219-8161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Ashland
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tony Award-winning Oregon Shakespeare Festival (OSF) is one of the nation's true artistic gems. Home to the largest resident acting company in America in charming downtown Ashland, OSF annually presents 11 plays on three unique stages in rotating repertory from February through October. With tours and fun educational events and an ever-changing summer entertainment on the Green Show stage, OSF is an immersive cultural experience for the whole family that you'll never forget.
Polson, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent experience at OSF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had a great time visiting OSF for the first time. The Tempest was excellent and we really enjoyed the production and how the actors brought the characters to life. The facilities at OSF can't be beat. There was plenty of parking and we had no difficulty getting tickets the day of the show. Top notch production!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    94
    26
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go For the Actors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The acting is always first rate. We always try one non-Shakespeare play we have never seen and have sometimes seen stunning surprises. We have also seen the best Death of a Salesman ever, a Streetcar that was a revelation and the Hamlet we saw here was superb.
Occasionally, one falls short, but it is always worth the trip.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great theatre in a lovely little town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Not just Shakespeare, but a wide range of theatre including contemporary dramas, musicals, comedies, and ground-breaking premiers performed in three different venues: a black box, a traditional proscenium setting, and a true Shakespearean, open air theatre. Almost always great performances, some risky interpretations, some stunningly good new theatre, and some fantastic Shakespeare. We travel to Ashland twice a year in order to catch all eleven plays and we keep coming back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb acting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Theater is first rate and caste for Richard III was superb. Bring a coat for evening performances in this outdoor theater.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not 5 Stars because...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The actor who plays "Sydney Brustein" was not credible, as he expressed no emotion or raged on the other characters. The performance needs work.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Shakespeare Festival also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Shakespeare Festival, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.