We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to see some theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Shakespeare Festival

Oregon Shakespeare Festival
15 South Pioneer St, Ashland, OR 97520
800-219-8161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Ashland
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tony Award-winning Oregon Shakespeare Festival (OSF) is one of the nation's true artistic gems. Home to the largest resident acting company in America in charming downtown Ashland, OSF annually presents 11 plays on three unique stages in rotating repertory from February through October. With tours and fun educational events and an ever-changing summer entertainment on the Green Show stage, OSF is an immersive cultural experience for the whole family that you'll never forget.
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice to see some theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We went to se a play last week and it was fun and place was packed! I am not a big Theatre person but I had fun on Outdoor theatre

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    94
    26
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Keizer, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't miss this if you love theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Since 1935, Ashland's unique repertory theatre has been delighting audiences with incredible staging, costuming, and acting. Do prepare, though, by reading at least a summary of the play, especially if it's Shakespeare. Language has changed! An easy way to "get into" the play is to reserve a seat at the Prologues offered before some of the plays; well worth it! We did this for As You Like It, which really made a difference in our understanding. This year's Romeo and Juliet has a Spanish influence and will delight even "seen it all" patrons; it is set in the Gold Rush days of California's wild west. For a real headspinner, try Medea/Macbeth/Cinderella! Your brain will be in overdrive as it tries to take in all that's going on. A good follow-up to that intense drama is Groucho Marx comedy in Animal Crackers. Vaudeville is alive and well this summer in that play. Oregon is blessed to have this amazing little town to call its own.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Where to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We've been coming to the Chantecler B and B for 3 years now. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Ellen is a gracious host. Breakfasts are great of course and it's a wonderful walk to the theatres. What sets this place off? There's a magic about it. It's restful and exquisite and the grounds are extensive. Sometimes we just sit and watch orange and blue dragon flies on the water lilies. It's two blocks off Main but more like a destination after time travel. We look forward to the plays and this grand B and B every year!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I have been driving up to Ashland from Central California for 12 seasons in a row. We highly recommend the whole experience.
We love the ambiance of the town, the idyllic scenery, the excellent restaurants and the friendly people, but most of all we love OSF! Over the years our understanding of Shakespeare and his works has broadened and deepened, and we look forward to each season with great anticipation. The three theaters provide quite different experiences, and the plays are always perfectly suited to their venues. Staff are helpful, friendly and efficient. Prepare to have a great time!

P.S. Some of our other favorite places in Ashland: The Palms (a refurbished vintage motel with lovely gardens); just down the street the best breakfast spot in the world, The Morning Glory; Paddington Station for shopping for miscellany and Red's Threads for unusual women's clothing and locally crafted jewelry (we always spend a couple of mornings or afternoons shopping in the beautiful downtown area.) Ashland boasts far more top-notch restaurants than any small town we have every visited. Now if we could just figure out how to retire there!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Wa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always fun, good productions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Have never been disappointed by the festival plays. ALways fun.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Shakespeare Festival also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Shakespeare Festival, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.