We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spirit Behind Bowmer in the Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Shakespeare Festival

Oregon Shakespeare Festival
15 South Pioneer St, Ashland, OR 97520
800-219-8161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Ashland
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tony Award-winning Oregon Shakespeare Festival (OSF) is one of the nation's true artistic gems. Home to the largest resident acting company in America in charming downtown Ashland, OSF annually presents 11 plays on three unique stages in rotating repertory from February through October. With tours and fun educational events and an ever-changing summer entertainment on the Green Show stage, OSF is an immersive cultural experience for the whole family that you'll never forget.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Spirit Behind Bowmer in the Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Independent filmmakers will show their new documentary "The Spirit Behind Bowmer in the Park" on the first anniversary of the 'cracked beam' at the Bowmer Thretre. It will show from 12:00-2:00p.m Sunday June 17, every 14 minutes at the Shakespeare Tudor Guild Gift Shop (on the bricks). Featured will be the 600 seat tent erected in Lithia Park, used for a venue to replace the Bowmer Theatre which was closed down for 6 weeks. Robin Rodrigues, Paul Nicholson and many more tell their story about the crises.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    93
    26
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“High quality plays put on by a high end repetoire company; clean theaters, outdoor evening shows can be super cold.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was my first visit and I am unlikely to return due to the distance, over a thousand miles. We saw 3 plays, one classic, Henry V, one a twist on Merry Wives of Windsor, and another which blended Macbeth, Cinderella and Medea, in a tale of love twisted. The latter two had actors equal to their roles, and the last was very intellectually challenging. My friend, who has come for 35 years or so, knows them all and finds them well cast. Personally, I felt Henry V was not strong enough for the role and was reminded this is not Leicester Square. It was also a unique experience to watch a play wearing my sled dog clothes, with a wind chill factor of 39 degrees, at the outdoor Elizabethan Theatre.

The three theatres and the campus are well maintained, clean, and offer a gift shop, and the predictable snack concessions. There is one point for handicapped access, as the campus sits atop a hill and is accessed by multiple stairways.

Blanket and pillows can be rented for $2.50 each.

The 3 tickets, including one preview, one regular - both in front balcony, and one matinee, back row, came to $209.

I had fun and was really glad I went.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The White Snake - Can't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The festival is very well organized to handle the crowds and the prime location in the center of Ashland makes access easy. The Green Show in the space in front of the theater was great fun. I highly recommend arriving early to see what is on offer. The theaters are well designed to allow quick filling and emptying. As for the play, well, The White Snake is not to be missed. It was a wonderful performance and I would not hesitste to say that it will forever be one of my favorites. If you can get a ticket, do.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Anybody who likes plays and lives on the West Coast should attend this Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Not only great Shakespeare, but many modern (and some world premiers) plays. Lectures explaining what you'll be viewing, behind-the-scenes tours, opportunities to discuss the show afterward, etc. WOW. No wonder I go year-after-year. Also there's that beautiful Lithia Park, and those wonderful restaurants and hand-made clothes and craft shops.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Yearly Romantic Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We are just turning 40, and have started to come from Portland every year...I think we're becoming "life-listers" of Shakespeare. Couldn't ask for a better venue and experience in our backyard.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Shakespeare Festival also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Shakespeare Festival, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.