We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Shakespeare Festival

Oregon Shakespeare Festival
15 South Pioneer St, Ashland, OR 97520
800-219-8161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Ashland
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tony Award-winning Oregon Shakespeare Festival (OSF) is one of the nation's true artistic gems. Home to the largest resident acting company in America in charming downtown Ashland, OSF annually presents 11 plays on three unique stages in rotating repertory from February through October. With tours and fun educational events and an ever-changing summer entertainment on the Green Show stage, OSF is an immersive cultural experience for the whole family that you'll never forget.
ashland, oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“first rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I haven't seen a bad play at the festival in over 10 years of viewing each season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    94
    26
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant West-Coast Theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

OSF is the perfect example that not all exceptional theater comes from the Broadway stages. Every production I've seen here (and I have seen ten) has been exceptional (except for 2010's Pride and Prejudice, which was grossly miscast). All the comedies are wonderful, particularly 2010's She Loves Me, which was a beautiful rendition of an old classic. Excellent for the more mature family members that can sit through a two hour production without getting restless.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OSF in trouble..........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have been going to the Shakespeare Festival for six summers. It has been disheartening to find the selection of contemporary plays less and less interesting (are these new ones suppose to be cool?) or professional. The new director and his friends have taken over and so far it has been a rough ride. Prices are going up and up, sets are almost non existent, B and C sections of the theater have shrunk in size and the Green Show has become "amateur hour". Need I say more?

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent West-Coast Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

A lot of people seem to think that great theater can only be found on Broadway. OSF is a beautiful example of the contradiction to that statement. The actors are unbelievable, and often times you look forward to seeing many of them in another production. I've been there three times, primarily for the theater and it always leaves me wanting more. Excellent for mature children and teenagers, particulary the comedies, which always have something for everyone. Best experience ever <3

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Incredible experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The OSF is an incredible venue in Ashland. It is world class and worth the trip! I would highly recommend the OSF to anyone...kids above the age of 8, teenagers and adults all enjoy the theatre productions of OSF. Truly it is worth traveling to see the OSF.

Last season I took my entire family to see "the imaginary Invalid". it was truly superb and truly world class.

This is a great family activity that is fun and educational as well!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Shakespeare Festival also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Shakespeare Festival, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.