We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original Breakfast

Original Breakfast
3225 Santiam Highway, Albany, OR 97322
(541) 928-9400
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 120 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Original Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

OMG!!!! One of today's specials was a tiger prawn omlet with cream cheese. The large prawns are sauted in wine and butter with mushrooms, fresh herbs and tomato. This is then scooped into a 3 egg omlet with cream cheese. The taste was out of this world. Perhaps the best omlet I have EVER had. My wife and I split the omlet and added a side of pancakes. The price was a bit spendy, but then this AIN'T your normal breakfast joint. Our server Melody was prompt and kept the coffees charged. This was our first visit. It won't be our last.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but LOUD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good food. Great Service but Extremely LOUD. Even though every table was full we got sat pretty quickly.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on I-5 (Or anyplace else for that matter).”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Funny thing about people. They will spend fifty dollars a month on lottery tickets or commute 300 miles a month (think gas prices) but gripe when they spend fifteen dollars for a great breakfast. My wife and I have been regulars here for years and no matter what the circumstances of the day we are treated with respect and appreciation. We've never had bad service nor poor attitude from the staff. Ed and staff are always observant of our needs and never fail to amaze us with their quality and professionalism. The specials are to die for and the regular menu has just about anything you can think of to eat for breakfast. We've never had a problem substituting anything on a specific meal. (Repeat that) NEVER. My friends and I eat there every Saturday and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any and everyone we know or meet. These are regular working folks doing a great job of preparing and serving the best darned breakfast anywhere. You can bank on it. (Except for those who think fifteen dollars us a lot for great food) We don't. Many thanks Ed and crew.....Chuck.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An above average greasy spoon.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

For the time spent waiting, this place was kind of disappointing.

I had the chicken fried steak and it was average. Not a lot of flexibility in changing items on the order.

We had the misfortune of sitting in the middle of the bar where all the action happens.

Food sat for numerous minutes before being picked up. Poor layout of the entire service area. Disorganized staff, infighting (which was uncomfortable at times), spills, breaks, left us with a 'thank God this meal was finally over' feeling.

As I said earlier in my title.... Average place at best.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

There was a bit of a wait for a table but worth the wait! I had the tomato & avocado eggs Benedict which was delicious! Our son had the peanut butter and honey stuffed French toast - he ate every bite. Service was very friendly and attentive.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Breakfast also viewed

 

Been to Original Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.